Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2021, 05:49 AM   #1
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Hi this tv was fine until the owner moved to another address,
it comes on in sby with 3 blinks and psu wont start up .
tried a power on reset by holding down power on button on rear of tv and applying mains no luck
first inspected for damage dry joints or loose foils no joy
checked psu volts ,the 12v and 24v supplies should be switched on by the main board no volts
i read on the net that the micro on some later philips may need a reflow ,removed psu checked all caps with esr meter all ok
removed main board
and heatsink on micro
heated to 300 deg for 2 mins with solder station ,
let it cool and no change
anyone had experience on these oled philips ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20210215_094030.jpg (685.6 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20210215_094045.jpg (847.9 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20210215_094116.jpg (682.6 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20210215_094134.jpg (777.6 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20210215_094240.jpg (816.3 KB, 6 views)
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 06:50 AM   #2
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbofz View Post
Hi this tv was fine until the owner moved to another address,
it comes on in sby with 3 blinks and psu wont start up .
from what you wrote.. it sounds the issue caused by transport.
1- check the LEDs Ambilight if one broken ( damage )
2- check if there visible damage on the panel module corners
3- need to run the OLED Module as stand alone to clear there are no damage caused by transport.

post please focused picture of the powerboards print label near to the Yellow sockets or listed over here what do you have at standby and when u turn on.
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 08:07 AM   #3
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diah View Post
from what you wrote.. it sounds the issue caused by transport.
1- check the LEDs Ambilight if one broken ( damage )
2- check if there visible damage on the panel module corners
3- need to run the OLED Module as stand alone to clear there are no damage caused by transport.

post please focused picture of the powerboards print label near to the Yellow sockets or listed over here what do you have at standby and when u turn on.
i didnt see any damage to casing or pcb boards
this is the first oled philips i have looked at,when i removed the rear cover,i unplugged the amberlight to gain access ,should the tv work with amberlight unplugged?
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 08:32 AM   #4
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbofz View Post
i didnt see any damage to casing or pcb boards
this is the first oled philips i have looked at,when i removed the rear cover,i unplugged the amberlight to gain access ,should the tv work with amberlight unplugged?
YES & NO depend on Operating System ( Android or native Linux ) & the Amerlight Setting if they was set to start at TV booting or not ( at service menu )
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 09:15 AM   #5
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

heres the pics
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20210215_150412.jpg (380.7 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20210215_150909.jpg (541.1 KB, 14 views)
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 10:04 AM   #6
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

remove the 24V socket between the PSU & T-con by unplug it from the T-CON side then test to turn on. give attention to the display if there will be horizontal line move from top to down
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 01:37 PM   #7
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diah View Post
remove the 24V socket between the PSU & T-con by unplug it from the T-CON side then test to turn on. give attention to the display if there will be horizontal line move from top to down
tried that sadly fault still same.
i checked with the owner they only have the amerlight on when they choose ,so it wouldnt be on all the time.
one thing i dont understand is where is the feed for the main backlights ?
theres no sign of cables running through to feed the backlights
surely these oled designs must still have a feed for backlights ,
or am i missing something?
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 01:42 PM   #8
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

OLED doesn't have any backlight.. the color cells are LED which driven by the 24V from T-CON driver section.

if you had the 24V disconnected and same error.. then you have issue at the Mainboards.
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 02:08 PM   #9
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diah View Post
OLED doesn't have any backlight.. the color cells are LED which driven by the 24V from T-CON driver section.

if you had the 24V disconnected and same error.. then you have issue at the Mainboards.
thankyou .
as i mentioned in my first post someone posted main board problem
that for him it was fixed with a reflow using solder station .
i will remove main board and check all caps with esr meter
then i will try a reflow again
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 02:20 PM   #10
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbofz View Post
thankyou .
as i mentioned in my first post someone posted main board problem
that for him it was fixed with a reflow using solder station .
i will remove main board and check all caps with esr meter
then i will try a reflow again
but before go to mainboards .. you need first to test the PSU first to turn it on with out mainboards ( stand alone ) to see if all 12 & 24V stable and remain stable
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 08:16 AM   #11
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

thanks normally i would find the sby 3.3v supply
and link it to p/s on off
and panel on/off
via 100 ohm resistor
but theres only voltage in sby on 12v pin
can you advise best way to test psu (stand alone)
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 09:22 AM   #12
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbofz View Post
thanks normally i would find the sby 3.3v supply
and link it to p/s on off
and panel on/off
via 100 ohm resistor
but theres only voltage in sby on 12v pin
can you advise best way to test psu (stand alone)
hold on. i am little confused with yours V reading

9.5V STB goes High to 12V when the mainboards send 3.1V to PSU (on pin PS/ON) this is Okay.

24V = 12V after PSU ON as you write its 12V at STB !!!!!??? some things wrong.

Panel ON =5V .. did you check the other socket which it goes to T-CON if there 24V ????

T-CON ON = 0 so no signal from MB to turn on the 12V to T-CON ( at same socket of 24V to panel )

i think there are error at measurements.. or Typo
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 12:02 PM   #13
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

i know its confusing
but there are two plugs on psu
on one plug should be 24v and 12v supplies ,
now when in sby theres no volts at all on these pins so no 12v or 24v on this plug

now the top plug has two rows of 8 connections
six (which are marked on board as 12v )they provide 9.5v in sby mode
the two pins marked 24v on board produce 12v when in sby

Now when using remote ,you get 3 blinks ,when its blinking these voltages change
as shown in pic .
the panel on/off pin only produces volts when its blinking
this is what i dont understand,as normally the sby volts is present in sby
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 12:10 PM   #14
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbofz View Post
i know its confusing
but there are two plugs on psu
on one plug should be 24v and 12v supplies ,
now when in sby theres no volts at all on these pins so no 12v or 24v on this plug

now the top plug has two rows of 8 connections
six (which are marked on board as 12v )they provide 9.5v in sby mode
the two pins marked 24v on board produce 12v when in sby

Now when using remote ,you get 3 blinks ,when its blinking these voltages change
as shown in pic .
the panel on/off pin only produces volts when its blinking
this is what i dont understand,as normally the sby volts is present in sby
my question still with out answer... this pin i remarked with bold did the 24 line provide 24V when power on?? if not then you have issue on PSU
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 12:17 PM   #15
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

to clear it for you in simple words

9.5V are STB V. when main boards turn on this 9.5V will boost high to 12V and the 24V line on same socket will boost 24V-

then mainboards will send T-con ON ( now the 12V on the other socket ) you have no signal as 0 now

then main boards will send signal to panel on ( this will boost 24V on the other sockets.

you can slide out the 2 cable t-con/ON and panel/ ON from the socket at the PSU. and make 2 jumper between PS/ON ( 3.1V) to pins t-con/on and panel/on. turn on and see if you have 24V & 12V on the other socket.
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 01:20 PM   #16
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diah View Post
to clear it for you in simple words

9.5V are STB V. when main boards turn on this 9.5V will boost high to 12V and the 24V line on same socket will boost 24V-

then mainboards will send T-con ON ( now the 12V on the other socket ) you have no signal as 0 now

then main boards will send signal to panel on ( this will boost 24V on the other sockets.

you can slide out the 2 cable t-con/ON and panel/ ON from the socket at the PSU. and make 2 jumper between PS/ON ( 3.1V) to pins t-con/on and panel/on. turn on and see if you have 24V & 12V on the other socket.
thank you ,you are a very patient man
i now understand how it should opperate .i will give it a try
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 02:05 PM   #17
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

well the 12v and 24v supplies came up thats the good news

the bad news
is it looks to me to be a damaged panel
,i get a vertical white stripe with coloured lines on left side of screen approx 4cm wide and about 6cm from edge of panel,
the rest of panel stays dark
ive posted pics
i only have a few seconds to focus camera before tv shuts down
but its the coloured lines that make me think its the panel
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210216_195310.jpg (247.2 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 20210216_195127.jpg (154.2 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by jimbofz; 02-16-2021 at 02:18 PM..
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 02:23 PM   #18
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

put back the cable you slide out in place .. just disconnect the 2 sockets on the T-CON 12V & 24V then turn on.. see the mainboards remain on
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 02:42 PM   #19
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

i removed links and refitted the 2 connections to the plug
then removed as you advised
back to just 3 blinks
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 02:49 PM   #20
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: philips 55 oled 745 /12 3 blinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbofz View Post
i removed links and refitted the 2 connections to the plug
then removed as you advised
back to just 3 blinks
when you did the first test with jumpers, did you have on the same socket 24V?
remember you wrote before it read 12 !!!

the pins on the sockets labeled +24V_A

Last edited by Diah; 02-16-2021 at 02:52 PM..
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?