Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2021, 06:33 PM   #1
Stephen
Meow Meow MEOW!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
City & State: USA 🇺🇸
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 412
Default T2 Chip Programmer Tool

I was curious if the T2 chip serial being changed would allow cracking the Firmware lock and icloud lock of a device? We came across the T2 Rom Tool and this allows the use of changing the serial which in our experience would allow removal of MDM on older models (2017-and older). Would that isolate the icloud bypass since it is married to the serial of the T2 chip? Curious since we are close to pulling the trigger on a wholesale lot and we anticipate iCloud devices in MacBooks etc. Piernov or anyone have thoughts on this?

Update: People are saying yes and no. If you change the serial you would have to change the UUID? Apple looks at the serial and the UUID in the rom. I know we could figure this out some how some way.
__________________

MEOWING IN THE IMPOSSIBLE UNIVERSE!

Last edited by Stephen; 03-14-2021 at 06:56 PM..
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2021, 02:43 PM   #2
piernov
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,697
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

The serial can be changed in the T2 ROM without too much trouble. It's a 25-series 1.8V SPI ROM so a decent programmer can deal with it (it's a 3x4mm package so smaller than usual though). Serial number should show up in the dump after "mNrS" string.
I don't know what are the repercussions. I'm probably at least 5 years away from seeing a T2 machine in front of me.
__________________
OpenBoardView https://github.com/OpenBoardView/OpenBoardView
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2021, 03:07 PM   #3
Stephen
Meow Meow MEOW!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
City & State: USA 🇺🇸
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 412
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Yeah I feel thats the difficult part...taking that risk on . T2. I mean worst case scenario we just have to RUN DFU lol
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 02:11 AM   #4
Nico Latour
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
City & State: nice
My Country: france
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 75
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

change serial on a t2 machine only works for mdm, mdm is linked on serial and icloud is linked on serial, wifi adres,bleutooth adres, so change serial not solved the problem, even the serial is not stored in the t2 chip and cant change it with software, the serial is in a small chip (4mb) and need to solder before can read write
Nico Latour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 06:46 AM   #5
curiositymaster
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Lagos
My Country: Nigeria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 49
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico Latour View Post
change serial on a t2 machine only works for mdm, mdm is linked on serial and icloud is linked on serial, wifi adres,bleutooth adres, so change serial not solved the problem, even the serial is not stored in the t2 chip and cant change it with software, the serial is in a small chip (4mb) and need to solder before can read write

Of course you need to remove the chip to reprogram it. I have used this to change the serial number on T2 twice. The programmer I used was purchased on aliexpress and it came with the bin file and bypass software.
curiositymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 07:41 AM   #6
sanmlis
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Таганрог
My Country: Россия
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Please share bin files, it would be interesting to study them
Quote:
Originally Posted by curiositymaster View Post
Of course you need to remove the chip to reprogram it. I have used this to change the serial number on T2 twice. The programmer I used was purchased on aliexpress and it came with the bin file and bypass software.
sanmlis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 08:00 AM   #7
curiositymaster
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Lagos
My Country: Nigeria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 49
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanmlis View Post
Please share bin files, it would be interesting to study them
I hope it helps
Attached Files
File Type: zip A2179 BIN.zip (2.25 MB, 440 views)
curiositymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 10:12 PM   #8
andriyd1
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: new york
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico Latour View Post
change serial on a t2 machine only works for mdm, mdm is linked on serial and icloud is linked on serial, wifi adres,bleutooth adres, so change serial not solved the problem, even the serial is not stored in the t2 chip and cant change it with software, the serial is in a small chip (4mb) and need to solder before can read write
How do you identify WiFi address and Bluetooth address in the dump read from small bt and WiFi rom chips?
andriyd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 06:22 AM   #9
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by curiositymaster View Post
Of course you need to remove the chip to reprogram it. I have used this to change the serial number on T2 twice. The programmer I used was purchased on aliexpress and it came with the bin file and bypass software.

Hey! Could you upload the whole USB stick content? Software and other files.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 10:19 AM   #10
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Rawalpindi
My Country: Pakistan
Line Voltage: 240Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by andriyd1 View Post
How do you identify WiFi address and Bluetooth address in the dump read from small bt and WiFi rom chips?
For which purpose you want to find?
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 12:21 PM   #11
andriyd1
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: new york
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Activation locks
andriyd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 09:40 AM   #12
curiositymaster
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Lagos
My Country: Nigeria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 49
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by andriyd1 View Post
Activation locks

You can't unlock simply by changing values on the dump file.
curiositymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 05:07 AM   #13
stevie
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

attached are the bin files from the T2 activation
you can run the mina activation tool by putting the MacBook Pro in DFU Mode
but unless you pay the unreasonable $90 to $120 that mina resellers
want for letting you submit the serial you want to use
it will come up with the message "serial no authorised"
you can use the tool with the bin files with the tool but although
successful it will give wrong summary details in about this mac
ie: displays that it is a 13" when it should state its a 16" etc
Attached Files
File Type: rar T2 Unlock Data Mina 1.4.rar (17.91 MB, 1248 views)
stevie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 05:17 PM   #14
toto2020
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: berlin
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

thanks for the valuable files. i downloaded and i will test it asap !
toto2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2021, 02:22 AM   #15
Bb68
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
City & State: Durban
My Country: South Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by toto2020 View Post
thanks for the valuable files. i downloaded and i will test it asap !
Please could you send me these files , the one on the original link are corrupt
Bb68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 04:26 PM   #16
zinnou
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
City & State: ok
My Country: algeria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevie View Post
attached are the bin files from the T2 activation
you can run the mina activation tool by putting the MacBook Pro in DFU Mode
but unless you pay the unreasonable $90 to $120 that mina resellers
want for letting you submit the serial you want to use
it will come up with the message "serial no authorised"
you can use the tool with the bin files with the tool but although
successful it will give wrong summary details in about this mac
ie: displays that it is a 13" when it should state its a 16" etc
hello After write file macbook air 2018 A1932 dead now only DFU mode
restored put all time dfu mode
zinnou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 09:50 PM   #17
anhbanxoi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: Ho Chi Minh
My Country: VN
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 56
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by zinnou View Post
hello After write file macbook air 2018 A1932 dead now only DFU mode
restored put all time dfu mode
In the video they also run some script (checkm8 i think) to be able to bypass and activate the machine.
anhbanxoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2021, 04:14 AM   #18
Bb68
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
City & State: Durban
My Country: South Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by zinnou View Post
hello After write file macbook air 2018 A1932 dead now only DFU mode
restored put all time dfu mode

Hi Im having the same problem, Flashed the rom with the A1932 unlock bin file and the unit is stuck in dfu mode. Anyone has a solution on this ?
Bb68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2021, 05:22 AM   #19
MughalG
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
City & State: rawalpindi
My Country: Pakistan
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by zinnou View Post
hello After write file macbook air 2018 A1932 dead now only DFU mode
restored put all time dfu mode
i Think rom chip is not soldered well
MughalG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2021, 06:17 AM   #20
Bb68
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
City & State: Durban
My Country: South Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: T2 Chip Programmer Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by MughalG View Post
i have good working Activation_Lock bin files for all models with same configuration as per model
of course method is not for free
How do I purchase ?
Bb68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?