Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2022, 02:34 PM   #1
SCCronauer25
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rosamond
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Unhappy Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

I am trying to fix my Dynex tv. The PSB is new and so is the Control Board, but when I turn it on, I get "please wait..." on screen, then it quickly goes black. I have the back of it off and checking voltages shows 5v standby and 2.5v supply comes on going away/into PSB/Control Board, 24v is present on PSB (getting .4v on most, if not all, backlight lines, 5v to backlight is there also), the control board's heatsink staying hot to the touch, plus the 2.5v going away/into the PSB/Control Board, gives me the impression it is on. What else should I check for?
SCCronauer25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 04:00 PM   #2
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,187
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

post good clear straight on pictures of each board and one of the whole back as to see how everything is connected, use the go advanced to post pics.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 04:08 PM   #3
SCCronauer25
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rosamond
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

Got it, will do.
SCCronauer25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 04:56 PM   #4
SCCronauer25
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rosamond
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
post good clear straight on pictures of each board and one of the whole back as to see how everything is connected, use the go advanced to post pics.
Pics of the connections and boards. I can check specific voltages if asked to. I have also checked for the voltages I get on the top two backlight lines when I power on and it reads about 12v for each before the backlight turns off. I know that it technically works other than it saying "please wait..." before the screen just goes black with no more backlight while everything stays in the "powered on" state.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_9266.jpg (648.0 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9265.jpg (614.3 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9267.jpg (592.5 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9268.jpg (645.4 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9270.jpg (826.3 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9271.jpg (544.4 KB, 5 views)
SCCronauer25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 05:32 PM   #5
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,187
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

ok start with connector x508, put your black probe on chassis ground, red probe on each pin, just probe the top to touch the metal, check each pin in standby (tv plugged in power off) take note of voltage, keep the probe where it is power tv on take note, report results, like pin 1 power-on, standby 0 volts powered on 3.3 volts, need pin label and condition in both standby and powered. Do that for each pin.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 05:38 PM   #6
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,187
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

good example of testing there: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XH9GfkGQX1I
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 06:07 PM   #7
SCCronauer25
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rosamond
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
ok start with connector x508, put your black probe on chassis ground, red probe on each pin, just probe the top to touch the metal, check each pin in standby (tv plugged in power off) take note of voltage, keep the probe where it is power tv on take note, report results, like pin 1 power-on, standby 0 volts powered on 3.3 volts, need pin label and condition in both standby and powered. Do that for each pin.
x508 connector voltages (powered off vs powered on) is as follows:

Standby mode plugged in and powered off:

pin 1: 0.000v
pin 2: 0.033v
pin 3: 0.033v
pin 4: 0.000v
pin 5: 0.000v
pin 6: 0.020v
pin 7: 0.002v
pin 8: 5.079v
pin 9: 0.001v
pin 10: 0.005v


Powered on mode:

pin 1: -0.005v
pin 2: 11.78v
pin 3: 11.78v
pin 4: -0.007v
pin 5: -0.007v
pin 6: 2.482v
pin 7: 5.000v
pin 8: 5.057v
pin 9: 2.535v
pin 10: 4.570v
SCCronauer25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 06:40 PM   #8
SCCronauer25
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rosamond
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCCronauer25 View Post
x508 connector voltages (powered off vs powered on) is as follows:

Standby mode plugged in and powered off:

pin 1: 0.000v
pin 2: 0.033v
pin 3: 0.033v
pin 4: 0.000v
pin 5: 0.000v
pin 6: 0.020v
pin 7: 0.002v
pin 8: 5.079v
pin 9: 0.001v
pin 10: 0.005v


Powered on mode:

pin 1: -0.005v
pin 2: 11.78v
pin 3: 11.78v
pin 4: -0.007v
pin 5: -0.007v
pin 6: 2.482v
pin 7: 5.000v
pin 8: 5.057v
pin 9: 2.535v
pin 10: 4.570v
pin 1: Labeled "GND"
pin 2: Labeled "12v"
pin 3: Labeled "12v"
pin 4: Labeled "GND"
pin 5: Labeled "GND"
pin 6: Labeled "PON"
pin 7: Labeled "5v-1"
pin 8: Labeled "5v-5"
pin 9: Labeled "PWM"
pin 10: Labeled "BON"
SCCronauer25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 08:03 PM   #9
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

So BLon is 5v but the backlights are off? That means you got bad backlights!
CapLeaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 08:20 PM   #10
SCCronauer25
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rosamond
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
So BLon is 5v but the backlights are off? That means you got bad backlights!
I considered that, but, when the tv initially powers on, I see picture and backlights come on. Hence why I noted that I get the message "please wait..." then it goes black while staying on. This happens every time I power on, so, I can only assume backlight is still working.

Bad caps, possibly? ((I also noted that this is a "new-probably refurbished or taken from partly good tvs respectively" PSB and Control Board. So, I am not sure that is what the issue is. Unless there is a bad cap on another pcb behind the metal housing that everything is attached to (which I doubt, but who knows), maybe in between the metal and backlight panel where the wires go into it))
SCCronauer25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 09:48 PM   #11
SCCronauer25
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rosamond
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCCronauer25 View Post
Pics of the connections and boards. I can check specific voltages if asked to. I have also checked for the voltages I get on the top two backlight lines when I power on and it reads about 12v for each before the backlight turns off. I know that it technically works other than it saying "please wait..." before the screen just goes black with no more backlight while everything stays in the "powered on" state.
Pics of inside the backlight housing area. I will try and see tomorrow, possibly, if any of the lights do not come on. I am thinking they are ok, only because there are no noticeable dark areas of the screen when it does light at power on...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_9288.jpg (404.2 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9290.jpg (483.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9289.jpg (452.5 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9291.jpg (425.5 KB, 3 views)
SCCronauer25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 03:22 AM   #12
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,187
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

ok, so you didn't waste any time and stripped it down, shows you're not lazy, be very careful with the panel, very easy to break them, specially on bigger sets, this 32 is much easier to manage. ok go ahead and ohm out your transformers on the inverter board, measurements on all of them should be very close to each other. meter in ohm mode, ohm testing done with tv UNPLUGGED from power, video example there, not your same tv but should give you the general idea:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNIWtrEHYsc
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 12:22 PM   #13
SCCronauer25
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rosamond
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
ok, so you didn't waste any time and stripped it down, shows you're not lazy, be very careful with the panel, very easy to break them, specially on bigger sets, this 32 is much easier to manage. ok go ahead and ohm out your transformers on the inverter board, measurements on all of them should be very close to each other. meter in ohm mode, ohm testing done with tv UNPLUGGED from power, video example there, not your same tv but should give you the general idea:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNIWtrEHYsc
Well, I guess moving it around to keep away from pets, having no rigidity, plus with my inability to keep it from twisting too much as I move it from one place to the other, has apparently taken its toll on one of the lights unfortunately, one end of the top bulb broke, right at the beginning of the blackened area of the bulb.


I still checked the coils and they seemed ok, all reading about 0.1-0.2 ohms.
However, it looks like this repair is a bust, as I don't think I will be able to find a bulb like the one that is needed. I am curious to see if the bulbs could just be replaced with LED's instead, but I am not sure if that would be a viable option, at least not without figuring out a way to drive them...
SCCronauer25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 12:42 PM   #14
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,187
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

it can be converted to led pretty cheaply, aliexpress sells kits for not much, probably ebay too.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 02:23 PM   #15
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,187
Default Re: Dynex tv with model #32L200a12 turns on, but shows "please wait..." quickly...

I meant to say ebay has them too but not as much to choose from as aliexpess.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?