Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2016, 04:43 AM   #301
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

that's it, the 2.5v reference.
the pullup *if it's fitted* needs to be replaced by a 2k2 resistor.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 04:49 AM   #302
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
that's it, the 2.5v reference.
the pullup *if it's fitted* needs to be replaced by a 2k2 resistor.
no resistor fitted at all in R16 spot
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 04:53 AM   #303
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

part numbers mean nothing on that board - that r16 is related to a battery charger.

use your meter to resistance-check between pin27 and 5v (pins 4 or 6)
if it's over 100k then we assume there is no resistor.
check with probes both ways.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 05:26 AM   #304
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

0.14 both ways on 200k this is the picture ive been looking at on eeblog same meter hes removed the D1 and fitted the lm 4040 there? this is where im lost where too place it please remember stj im learning as im going my board has version 1.05k on it as just ran a self check
Attached Images
File Type: jpg China_modification-1.jpg (144.3 KB, 27 views)

Last edited by vinceroger69; 07-07-2016 at 05:35 AM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 05:52 AM   #305
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

actually, your right - it is that diode.
so do what he did - just do it neater

now i want to know why he fitted a couple of caps on the cpu.
i have to go check the pdf.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 05:55 AM   #306
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

thanks stj i was getting confused too it looks like he has left one leg of the lm4040 un connected to anything? tom66 mentions in the thread about those caps too not sure what they do though? its a long thread on eeblog this one catching up but hey im learning so alls good.
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 05:58 AM   #307
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

lm4040 pin1 is not used.
just cut it off.

those caps he added are .1uf across the power for extra smoothing.
he also changed the 78L05 regulator for something better.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf lm4040aim3-2.5.pdf (1.45 MB, 23 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 06:20 AM   #308
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

cheers stj ive just been reading the tester pdf thanks for your help so far i will start fitting parts soon the 10 pin header programer has just come in the post, im just popping out too pick that free programer up too as ive noticed that link i posted from ebay its gone up from 20.00 to 40.00 so not going too turn down a boxed freebie.
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 01:06 PM   #309
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

just remember the pin numbers on the pdf may be for the 28pin dil package.
here is a schem of a GM328a showing how your kits probably are - or atleast close to.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GM328A.jpg (139.7 KB, 37 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 02:20 PM   #310
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

you know, for that old board, this may be better:
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/idc-connectors/0471109/

then you can re-program it without removing the display.
good thing RS has no minimum orders
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 05:46 AM   #311
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
you know, for that old board, this may be better:
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/idc-connectors/0471109/

then you can re-program it without removing the display.
good thing RS has no minimum orders
cheers stj added 2 to my next order i place for now im working on that 2016 kit i brought you recomended changing the crystal and a transistor and adding the header this is the part i ordered
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/voltag...ences/5343037/
which one do i swop it with on the 2016 pcb? as im going too start this project later as all the parts have come now.
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 06:12 AM   #312
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

you swap it with the ??431
BUT the pins are not in the same place,
you need to cut one pin off the LM4040 and then put it in offset to one side.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf lm4040aim3-2.5.pdf (1.45 MB, 15 views)
File Type: pdf tl431.pdf (2.41 MB, 26 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 06:14 AM   #313
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

btw, do you have kynar wire?

personally i would skip the cheap chipsocket - just more contacts to add resistance.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 03:41 PM   #314
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
btw, do you have kynar wire?

personally i would skip the cheap chipsocket - just more contacts to add resistance.
i was just comfirming about the voltage regulator so thats fine, and i can order some kynar wire, and your thinking remove the socket and solder chip to the board?

Last edited by vinceroger69; 07-10-2016 at 04:05 PM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 03:58 PM   #315
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

if you already soldered it then may as well leave it for now.

kynar is fine insulated silver-coated wire that is good for patching boards.
it is fine enough to go through the pcb with component pins.

you dont need it, but it's nice to use.
a bit expensive though.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 06:49 AM   #316
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Stj i thought i would try that tl866 progrmmer i picked up when i try too read the good working atmeg328p all what it comes up with is ff on all the read info no data etc are these chips copy protected? have you got the complete hex file with boot files etc inc as i just want to test this programmer and also get the esr kit i built working (which works fine is i use the other atmeg 328p ic) for some reason it just wont read the good chip? so i cant copy contents from it.

Last edited by vinceroger69; 07-12-2016 at 07:58 AM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:35 AM   #317
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

EZ studio's chips are protected.
no big deal as it's just the regular code from the author.

try this one.
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester (SVN663).zip (91.7 KB, 44 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:53 AM   #318
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

hi tried that although the screen now stays on it has two rows of scrolling symbols thats all
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:57 AM   #319
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

hows the contrast?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:02 AM   #320
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

that was ok same as my working unit just to comfirm im still using the 8mz crystal so i opened the 8mhz data and put the three files into the programmer make file, ,and the hex one then wrote data to chip is that the correct way
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?