Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2016, 08:14 AM   #321
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Yes, especially since the seller has one for sale assembled aswell!
I bought one too but I'm still waiting for it, so I'm very thankful for your work on this vinceroger
Hi just wondered if you managed to build your tester kit? and did your atmega328p ic have data on it as mine did not.
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:19 AM   #322
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i dont know how that programmer works.
but you only need the hex and eep files.


try this one.
Attached Files
File Type: zip testing.zip (67.3 KB, 28 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:21 AM   #323
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinceroger69 View Post
Hi just wondered if you managed to build your tester kit? and did your atmega328p ic have data on it as mine did not.
mine was not a kit, it was the older version - 100% surface-mount and no rotary encoder.

it was copy protected and i had to draw up a schematic and patch the code to match it.
i also had to change the default contrast because initially the display looked blank!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:26 AM   #324
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

sorry stj i meant Per Hannson regarding the same kit he brought as me, its a good job stj you have experience in programing i have no idea but i am learning slowly i will try the above file and let you know thanks again.
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:27 AM   #325
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

how does that programmer handle the 3 fuse bytes?
you MUST set them with the values in the first archive.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:38 AM   #326
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

dave from eeblog has a good you tubevideo on this programmer minipro tl866cs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLG03f_ua5g
i will take a picture of the screen now about the fuses etc
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WP_20160712_15_41_15_Pro.jpg (744.7 KB, 24 views)

Last edited by vinceroger69; 07-12-2016 at 08:52 AM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:56 AM   #327
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

what a pain.

o.k.
play with those tick boxes to get the low-fuse to F7
and the high-fuse to D9
and the extended fuse to FC
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:20 AM   #328
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

fuses was easy too set up as per your guide still scrolling display with one of your zip files and just a blank display with the other zip file
just a thought stj when adding your files i can add them as code memo or data memo which one is correct?

Last edited by vinceroger69; 07-12-2016 at 09:24 AM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:27 AM   #329
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

hex is code, eep is data - you need both because the fonts are in the eep file!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:31 AM   #330
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

ok will try again lol as was putting both in code
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:33 AM   #331
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

that explains it, you had the display but no fonts!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:34 AM   #332
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,523
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Yes, especially since the seller has one for sale assembled aswell!
I bought one too but I'm still waiting for it, so I'm very thankful for your work on this vinceroger
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinceroger69 View Post
Hi just wondered if you managed to build your tester kit? and did your atmega328p ic have data on it as mine did not.
Have not even received mine yet
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:42 AM   #333
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

well vince can send you a 16MHz crystal for it - he had to buy 5
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 09:48 AM   #334
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

with all the settings as your instructions and tried the two diffrent zip files still no good one zip just blank screen other zip slightly diffrent scrolling data on screen in my picture of the fuses screen theres one section lock bit byte? ive got nothing ticked there.

Last edited by vinceroger69; 07-12-2016 at 09:50 AM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:21 AM   #335
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

leave the lock bits.

50/50 this is because of the programmer.
try renaming the eep file - eeprom.hex
and the hex file - code.hex
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:26 AM   #336
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

ok will give it one more try if it dosnt work it may find its way in the post too you.

well that didnt work either just the backlight on untill auto switch off.

Last edited by vinceroger69; 07-12-2016 at 10:32 AM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:45 AM   #337
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

well the header and usbasp programmer are the prefered method.
was it the first file that gave some stuff on the display?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:54 AM   #338
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

yes top two rows lit very small symbols/writing scrolling left to right at the moment with the second zip files just back light on and stays on for about a minute.
i would of thought with this programmer its the same really but your just removing the ic from the holder i have set the fuses as you have said thats easy to do im just looking at videos now to make sure im using the programmer rite.
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 04:38 PM   #339
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,523
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Finally mine arrived too!
I've got the same as vinceroger69, with the firmware from this post I get scrolling characters on the screen when I power on.
With the other firmware from this post it is blank.

The chip did contain a few bytes of code when I got it but for sure it was not a complete program.
The programmer acted like it was empty; like vinceroger69 explained in this post. (I attached what was there in the rar file).

With the scrolling text I can't do anything, if I press the encoder nothing happens, I need to remove the battery to power off.
The LCD is marked LCM_12864_V1.30 2015.09.01
I attached pictures showing the scrolling text and of the LCD backside.

I used a Willem GQ-4X USB Programmer to program the chip and set the fuses.
(I had to do a "Erase" first which I did not at first realize, took many attempts until I found out that was the problem because the program never got written properly, I did the programming in circuit.)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5103.JPG (371.8 KB, 59 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5104.JPG (143.0 KB, 38 views)
File Type: png Fuses.png (115.3 KB, 54 views)
Attached Files
File Type: rar esr.rar (3.3 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 07-13-2016 at 04:40 PM..
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 05:39 PM   #340
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,045
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

o.k. i'l go look at the code.

i think the pinout is o.k. or the display wouldnt be on.
so probably a different chip in it.

try this
Attached Files
File Type: zip testing-1306.zip (32.9 KB, 17 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?