Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2017, 01:23 PM   #881
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,523
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

If you are building on CentOS7 or RHEL7 I made a small writeup here.
If not the version of GCC should still be relevant no matter what build OS you have.

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...&postcount=773
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

Last edited by Per Hansson; 12-03-2017 at 01:25 PM..
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 09:10 AM   #882
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I have just received a couple of 16mhz crystals and fitted one to my T4 tester
with the old program which is v1.12 all the capactors read double there value where as resistors and transistors seem to read within tolerence, I have tried several 16mhz firmware upgrades with no luck just a blank screen, any suggestions ? if all else fails I can always revert to the 8mhz crystal. the original firmware was V2.68 which I lost due to corruption and damage to the original chip, (my fault) did not discharge capacitor.
John
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 09:27 AM   #883
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

post foto's of the board
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 11:42 AM   #884
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,121
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Piece of s*$#(%t...

I remember having so much trouble making sure that gcc fit everything in flash and got so pissed off when gcc version bumps caused bloat, and it's still a problem...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 12:17 PM   #885
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i think the good one is 4.8
need to fire up the other box & check.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 01:04 PM   #886
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,121
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I was pissed off that I kept 3.3.something for a long time because it produced the smallest code...
Alas had OS compatibility issues as it was kept back for so long and forced to delete it.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 04:45 PM   #887
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
post foto's of the board
Picture of the board is shown in #825.
John

Last edited by Per Hansson; 12-05-2017 at 12:35 PM.. Reason: Added direct link
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:12 AM   #888
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

test these - let me know which gives you a display.
that's all its for btw, determining how the display is wired.
Attached Files
File Type: zip T4-test.zip (66.6 KB, 16 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 07:18 AM   #889
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
test these - let me know which gives you a display.
that's all its for btw, determining how the display is wired.
Hi stj;Have downloaded your firmware the strip grid16 is the one that gives a display see thumbnails the other (16mz) is blank.
John
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC06132.JPG (1.70 MB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg DSC06133.JPG (1.82 MB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg DSC06134.JPG (1.73 MB, 26 views)
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 08:41 AM   #890
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

good, now go into the contrast menu if you can, and find the best setting
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 09:46 AM   #891
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
good, now go into the contrast menu if you can, and find the best setting
Hi stj; do not seem to be able to get the contrast menu up only having one button to press.
John
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 11:02 AM   #892
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

long press / short press combinations should work - sort of.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 12:53 PM   #893
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
long press / short press combinations should work - sort of.
Tried a combination of long short presses with link in and out all to no avail.

john
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 05:36 PM   #894
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

If I press the button once it goes into test and then this screen with no component connected and stays like this until battery is disconnected.
John
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC06135.JPG (2.02 MB, 12 views)
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:30 PM   #895
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

when it's off, hold the button down.
you will get a menu, or it's not enabled - i didnt check.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:03 AM   #896
gabiz_ro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
City & State: Bacau
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 165
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Same board as TEDDIBEAR have.Except crystal at 16MHz.
Replaced push button with encoder.
Tested few versions,some no display,some display OK but only push button works no encoder.
Finally found this one
https://www.mikrocontroller.net/svnb..._T3_T4_st7565/
But crystal on board was already 16MHz so display double value.
Change value in makefile and works fine.
gabiz_ro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:24 AM   #897
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
when it's off, hold the button down.
you will get a menu, or it's not enabled - i didnt check.
No unable to get any menu by holding button down. only test which if you do not insert component reads 54.62pf then if you insert 3 pin link it will run through some information as pictured in previous thread this is the only way to get it to switch off automatically, if you do not insert link it just sits at 54.62pf.
John
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:27 AM   #898
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

the test i posted is 16MHz, it was to see how the display was wired.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:28 AM   #899
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEDDIBEAR View Post
No unable to get any menu by holding button down. only test which if you do not insert component reads 54.62pf then if you insert 3 pin link it will run through some information as pictured in previous thread this is the only way to get it to switch off automatically, if you do not insert link it just sits at 54.62pf.
John
ignore that firmware - it's done it's job.
now i know how your display is wired, i can make a "real" firmware later.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:36 AM   #900
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by gabiz_ro View Post
Same board as TEDDIBEAR have.Except crystal at 16MHz.
Replaced push button with encoder.
Tested few versions,some no display,some display OK but only push button works no encoder.
Finally found this one
https://www.mikrocontroller.net/svnb..._T3_T4_st7565/
But crystal on board was already 16MHz so display double value.
Change value in makefile and works fine.
Hi have never worked on makefile so would not know how to change any values
any help would be appreciated.
John
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?