Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2021, 12:28 PM   #1021
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

223 is 22nF
you need 220nF (224)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 09:04 AM   #1022
sauna
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
City & State: Pasvalys
My Country: Lithuania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Thank you, stj.I've tried everything.at the last stage, he does not measure anything.
as if stuck tightly.
sauna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 11:59 AM   #1023
sauna
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
City & State: Pasvalys
My Country: Lithuania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I will explain the test.what it should be.


1. in the first stage, short circuit to 123
2. the second stage I have a 2 mf capacitor
3 .0.022 capacitor.this is 223j.this is 23nf
or am I wrong?
sauna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 12:45 PM   #1024
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,121
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

How much calibration do these need anyway, these devices vary so much that we need 0.1% capacitors to calibrate them? Uhoh.

2F capacitor? (I've hated "mF" for F even though they've done this in the past, grr. I don't like mmf for pf either. Make Money Fast!)

0.022F = 22nF = 22000pF = 22 x 10 pF = code 223; 223j = 0.022F5%

I don't think I have any accurate (i.e. not a ceramic) 0.22F capacitor... needed for calibration?
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 01:27 PM   #1025
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

a copy/paste from my old txt
Quote:
after programming, you need to calibrate the unit. (preferably twice)
you need something to short all 3 inputs,
and an accurate capacitor between 100n and 1uf - i recommend a 220n polyester cap.
-
you also need a good stable capacitor between 10 and 30nF to calibrate the new small inductor mode.
if you dont have one, just ignore the cal message till it times-out
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 02:48 PM   #1026
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 3,228
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

If the crystal does not match the MCU fuse setting, as well as the F/W- there are problems. Fast F/W with low crystal will read smaller C values I think.
i.e. compiled F/W build is for 20MHz, crystal fuse 8MHz, C readings too low.

TransistorTester with AVR microcontroller and a little more
Version 1.13k Karl-Heinz Kubbeler
https://github.com/svn2github/transi...sh/ttester.pdf
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 02:07 AM   #1027
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,121
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Ah so the actual value doesn't matter and you don't need to "enter" the value in...? interesting. I guess with accurate "T" and "R" you can still find accurate "C".

Will be interesting to compare this to the Sencore.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 05:01 AM   #1028
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

you need firmware that matches the crystal speed because there are time-constants in the software.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 09:39 AM   #1029
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,121
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

And how accurate is the crystal or is it using the on-chip oscillator, that thing really should be calibrated too...not sure if atmel^H^H^H^H^H^H microchip tunes those to 1ppm?
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 01:16 PM   #1030
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

it's 100% crystal.
that's one of the reasons why you do the cal procedure.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 01:53 PM   #1031
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,121
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

How does one calibrate the crystal or is it dependent on the crystal being accurate? Can crystal errors be calibrated to some NIST traceable source?
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2021, 02:08 AM   #1032
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

it's assumed you have a decent crystal and a good pcb track layout.
most crystals are 20ppm or better now, and variance in smd caps is very low.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2021, 10:00 AM   #1033
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,121
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

One would hope that they are, though for like microprocessors there's a reason most computers have a huge variance between them despite being the "same" frequency...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 08:43 AM   #1034
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 615
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

How essential is a rotary encoder to the software? I understood that it was pretty important to navigate the menus, and both meters with enough flash to support all the functions (hiland) and tc-1 have only a button.
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 09:36 AM   #1035
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

if it's a large button and not a 5mm one then a rotary fits the pads.
i'v put a rotary on a tc1

essential - no, but it's nice to have for extra modes.
tc1 has issues btw, you want to pull the 8pin mcu and replace it with a discrete 2 transistor circuit.
it controls the power - but has a habit of drawing current instead of sleeping - 100mA of current!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 11:38 AM   #1036
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 615
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
if it's a large button and not a 5mm one then a rotary fits the pads.
i'v put a rotary on a tc1

essential - no, but it's nice to have for extra modes.
tc1 has issues btw, you want to pull the 8pin mcu and replace it with a discrete 2 transistor circuit.
it controls the power - but has a habit of drawing current instead of sleeping - 100mA of current!
Ha, how many different models do you have?

I looked through some of this thread and some of the 277 page thread on eev and it seems that there's no perfect lcr at any price. I'm starting to thing having two might be the best option, I already have an lcr-t4, so maybe if I get a tc1 that can round out the collection.

The other LCR that seems interesting is the Highland M644 which has some specfic hardware for frequency counting.

From what I have read, you can reprogram the MCU on the TC1 so you don't have to replace it with 2 transistors. It's unfortunate that it comes with a case, but I can print a new one...
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 12:44 PM   #1037
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

you can reprogram the stc micro on a tc1 - it still crashes out of sleep mode though.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 03:12 PM   #1038
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 615
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
you can reprogram the stc micro on a tc1 - it still crashes out of sleep mode though.
Hmm, I saw a reference to using the two transistors or reprogramming the u4. Maybe it was with the assumption that the reader does the programming. I have however seen .bin files for the u4 mcu though in that thread, I wonder what they do...
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 04:25 PM   #1039
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29,048
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

the bin files arent a real fix.
this is:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg riding-the-storm-ch38-anons.jpg (33.7 KB, 32 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf TC1-Mod.pdf (23.7 KB, 32 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 06:23 PM   #1040
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 615
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Damn, that's a lot to fit on a small pad. Are people soldering in small boards? At a point, I think it would be better to splice in an on/off switch on the line to the battery.
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?