Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2021, 05:46 AM   #1
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

my sony has great pic and sound for 6 seconds then ,5 blinks
which usually means bad t con or lvds cable.or on this model logic board
given that the pic is good ,i suspect corrupt f/w
sony website no longer has f/w for this model .
ive searched the net no luck ,
according to the service manual f/w update is possible with usb on this model
i was able to enter service menu and quickly do factory reset (press 8,mute,0, power on)
but micro still turns off after 6 seconds
.tried powering on with sby button on tv pressed, no luck

sorry for repeating a post on this model but the previous post was related to problem with backlight which is now ok
for me this tv has become quite a challenge
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 07:19 AM   #2
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,605
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

as i know this set had cooling Fan / Fans ... at your first threat (https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=92081 ) of this set i didn't see any Fan !!!! ???
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 07:56 AM   #3
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,462
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

There was a recall, wonder if they can at least help you with the firmware, like direct you to where it is or send it to you??:

Sony: Product recall
IMPORTANT : if you own one of the following models: SONY KDL-40D3500 , SONY KDL-40D3550 , SONY KDL-40V3000 , SONY KDL-40W3000 , SONY KDL-40X3000 , SONY KDL-40X3500 or KDL- 40D3400, KDL-40D3660.
Then you must contact Sony in order to carry out a free control of your TV following a component which could be defective and generate overheating and ignition of the product.
Click here for details of the terms and conditions.
__________________
Signature: Any Stooge can find an "Idiot" by looking in his mirror.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 07:58 AM   #4
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,462
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Recall was quite a while back but it seems like they wouldn't want them catching fire, no matter how long ago it was.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 08:00 AM   #5
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,462
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

The updated firmware was also suppose to quiet down the fans. NOT to be confused with the recall, which was for faulty component/s.

Last edited by nomoresonys; 03-08-2021 at 08:02 AM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 08:05 AM   #6
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

yes my set does have two fans .
apparently the f/w upgrade was to make the fans quieter as original owners complained about the noise they made
ive trawled through sony website to see if i can contact them ,
but you go round in circles there doesnt seem to be any way of e mailing them about this
perhaps these older models they no longer want to help you with
the website is designed to prevent any contact with them
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 08:08 AM   #7
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

i think if the fans dont work ie the set running too hot the error is 7 blinks
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 08:14 AM   #8
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,462
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Deos seem so, maybe a member here has a good phone number or good contact info for them.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 08:17 AM   #9
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Deos seem so, maybe a member here has a good phone number or good contact info for them.
thanks fingers crossed
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 08:43 AM   #10
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,004
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

https://services.sony.co.uk/supportm...ectors-lcd-tvs

maybe worth filling in this form and seeing if they will provide you with the firmware no harm in asking i guess
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 09:13 AM   #11
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,605
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

yours first post and this you described same issue 6 seconds perfect picture then out.. its fan spins problem not firmware... put new PC fan or clean the shift of the original.. we discussed this before, when spins low resistances will rise result tv shutdown to protecting.
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 09:15 AM   #12
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

ok done that will wait to see if they get back to me

just wondered if there is any way to desensitise the protect cct
to see if anything draws too much current
one thing i tried was to run the t con and logic board via external 12v bench supply
which i had previously frozen with freezer spray
then applied 12v and looked closely to see which conponent thawed first ,all components stayed frozen for same time so this was inconclusive
on the logic board (the pre t con) there were a number of caps that esr value were suspect so i replaced them and checked for any s/c sadly no luck
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 09:44 AM   #13
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diah View Post
yours first post and this you described same issue 6 seconds perfect picture then out.. its fan spins problem not firmware... put new PC fan or clean the shift of the original.. we discussed this before, when spins low resistances will rise result tv shutdown to protecting.
thank you Diah ,
once again you have come up with something i did not consider
mainly due to the number of blinks being 5 not 7
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 09:50 AM   #14
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

ok unplugged both fans ,still 5 blinks not 7
heated up tv with hairdrier tried again ,still 5 blinks
removed fans ,tested with 12v supply ,both fans spin with very low current drain .
measured resistance of each fan and compared with similar 3 pin fans all measure the same
could there be some temperature sensor faulty ?
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 10:04 AM   #15
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,004
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

does this work?
1. In standby mode, press the following buttons on the Sony remote:

DISPLAY....5....VOL(-)....TV POWER

2. On the left side are the blink codes. On the right hand side is the error count.

3. Under 005, you'll see three listings... TCON, HFR, and P-ID (pane
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 10:05 AM   #16
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,462
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Is there 12 volts at the connectors of the fans, you know so they are getting 12 volts?
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 10:35 AM   #17
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,605
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbofz View Post
ok unplugged both fans ,still 5 blinks not 7
heated up tv with hairdrier tried again ,still 5 blinks
removed fans ,tested with 12v supply ,both fans spin with very low current drain .
measured resistance of each fan and compared with similar 3 pin fans all measure the same
could there be some temperature sensor faulty ?
1- set with out Fan connected will not work
2- yours way of testing sorry to say wrong... no need to heat or any other... you have spins issue.. you need to Oil the shift of the original.. see if the shift fits exactly and there no play move on sides . put pc fan and switch on.. your set will working.
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 11:57 AM   #18
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diah View Post
1- set with out Fan connected will not work
2- yours way of testing sorry to say wrong... no need to heat or any other... you have spins issue.. you need to Oil the shift of the original.. see if the shift fits exactly and there no play move on sides . put pc fan and switch on.. your set will working.
thanks ,i cleaned and oiled the original fans , same fault
i removed them
and replaced them with some from an old hitachi plasma
same 12v ,3 lead type but just bigger in size.
.same fault see pic (.i left them hanging over the top )
the pic is blurred because i dont have enough time for camera to focus before tv goes off to 5 blinks
during testing i use scart i/p as this usually means tv will auto select scart and i always get sound
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20210308_174252.jpg (351.3 KB, 4 views)
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 11:59 AM   #19
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinceroger69 View Post
does this work?
1. In standby mode, press the following buttons on the Sony remote:

DISPLAY....5....VOL(-)....TV POWER

2. On the left side are the blink codes. On the right hand side is the error count.

3. Under 005, you'll see three listings... TCON, HFR, and P-ID (pane
tried what you suggest but not enough time before 5 blinks ,i will keep trying
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 01:26 PM   #20
jimbofz
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: cheshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 255
Default Re: firmware for sony KDL40X 3500

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinceroger69 View Post
does this work?
1. In standby mode, press the following buttons on the Sony remote:

DISPLAY....5....VOL(-)....TV POWER

2. On the left side are the blink codes. On the right hand side is the error count.

3. Under 005, you'll see three listings... TCON, HFR, and P-ID (pane
ok i found if i switch to analogue and remove all i/p
i can get in to self test mode:
005 t con 2103081859
007 temp error 0000000000
009 fan error 0000000000
008 auto prot 0000000000
013 ballancer 0000000000
i tried to take a pic but it was barely readable .
whats interesting is that it doesnt show all the 002 to 013 codes every time
but the only thing showing any error is 005

Last edited by jimbofz; 03-08-2021 at 01:29 PM.. Reason: re word
jimbofz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?