X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Start up kit.

G'day Guys (and ladies),

<Long bit of background, actual question coming...>
    I currently live in a remote town in Queensland, Australia and have started doing some basic parts replacement and troubleshooting as a bit of a sideline business (My day job is IT also). I've been reading recently on this bad caps forum and have been intrigued about 'actually' repairing a motherboard as opposed to replacing it. This would be ideal for me because if I have a supply of caps and that's all that's needed to get a customer back up and running then it certainly beats waiting two weeks for a motherboard to arrive on the barge (yes our post comes in on a barge).

<actual question>
    So, what I don't currently have is a supply of caps and the necessary tools to do the replacements with. Does anyone have some advice on what tools are necessary before I start practicing on motherboards? (I'll make sure I practice on a few before I charge someone for my services).

Thanks.

Re: Start up kit.

Hey Mate.... greetings from Sydney,

I do motherboard repair for my clients (e.g. bad caps replacement, connector replacements etc.), in my opinion all you need is a soldering iron of about 40-60W and of course the replacment parts. I source my caps off ebay most of the time. The caps I get off eBay are usually Panasonic FJ and Sanyo WG. If you want Rubycon caps, you can contact Topcat to purchase some. If you want Samxon branded caps you can contact Bigpope or Davmax. I have received Samxon caps from Davmax before and they are very good. Davmax is located in Western Australia so I guess shipping could be faster since you are in Queensland.