Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2021, 02:26 PM   #21
maxitaxi
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: gld
My Country: nedtherlands
Line Voltage: [email protected]
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: RCUnlocker

ok, can test it on thursday. 2 days off :-)
maxitaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 05:58 AM   #22
smiley60
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Sharjah
My Country: UAE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 43
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
User error. Follow the instructions. You need 16MB chip modified, not 32MB.
you mean patching the ec 16mb bios is enough for removing the password
smiley60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 06:26 AM   #23
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 968
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Yes.
RethoricalCheese is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 07:09 AM   #24
smiley60
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Sharjah
My Country: UAE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 43
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
Yes.
I m living at the world of locked bios laptops
and want to check 9470m for now
smiley60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 10:13 PM   #25
Seattle2021
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
City & State: Seattle
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 19
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Hi RethoricalCheese,

Per your request, I am again attaching the BIOS for the 1040 G1 after multiple unsuccessful unsoldering and reprogramming using the HP Unlocker and RCUnlocker, as well using a BIOS downloaded from HP and modified lower portion of the bin file. Please let me know if you need additional information. Really appreciated for your help
Attached Files
File Type: zip 25Q16-Original-Locked-1.zip (473.9 KB, 8 views)
File Type: zip 25Q128-Original-Locked-1.zip (8.38 MB, 2 views)
Seattle2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 10:57 PM   #26
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 968
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Well, looks like programming issue. When you write, does verify pass aswell?
RethoricalCheese is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2021, 09:46 AM   #27
Seattle2021
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
City & State: Seattle
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 19
Default Re: RCUnlocker

RhetoricalCheese,

Thatís interesting and theres a possibility I have a faulty programmer. The post write verify always passed without any issues, Iíve even done a read after write, and the comparison were identical as well. I will continue to seek for a solution and may need a new software program. Thank you again for all your help.
Seattle2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 02:57 AM   #28
maxitaxi
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: gld
My Country: nedtherlands
Line Voltage: [email protected]
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
Yes, my bad. Used the wrong version of my tool


This is the one I meant to give you.
Hi , i tried the TEST_2 file but result is the same. I can press F10 and get message 'entering setup menu'. After 10 minutes i press F1 and i get 'enterin system information' so laptops seems alive but stays in the last-message-screen.
maxitaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 12:47 PM   #29
ibo
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: ankara
My Country: turkey
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Wow very good tool thank you for this.

So this will also unlock HP G6 and G7 models?
and for this models i need to read the EC chip?
ibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 04:37 AM   #30
Haker5
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: Glasgow
My Country: Wielka Brytania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 16
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibo View Post
Wow very good tool thank you for this.

So this will also unlock HP G6 and G7 models?
and for this models i need to read the EC chip?
yes i sorted yesterday g6 all is working
Haker5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 08:32 AM   #31
maxitaxi
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: gld
My Country: nedtherlands
Line Voltage: [email protected]
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxitaxi View Post
Hi , i tried the TEST_2 file but result is the same. I can press F10 and get message 'entering setup menu'. After 10 minutes i press F1 and i get 'enterin system information' so laptops seems alive but stays in the last-message-screen.
i could send the laptop to you by DHL if that would help research ??
maxitaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 10:20 AM   #32
LatinMcG
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: Tampa, FL
My Country: USA/Puerto Rico
Line Voltage: Tickles the tongue
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: RCUnlocker

i have Patch 840 g6 32Mb patch file no need to patch 16Mb.
also Locked
both 32MB included to compare.

EDIT!!
Nevermind i was given bad INFO due to language

next post is working patch


Last edited by LatinMcG; 09-11-2021 at 11:26 AM..
LatinMcG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 11:05 AM   #33
LatinMcG
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: Tampa, FL
My Country: USA/Puerto Rico
Line Voltage: Tickles the tongue
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: RCUnlocker

here is a better example 830 G6.. seems its just changing the 3F to 3C on some areas to make it invalid.
then flash original back after the 16mb is forced to unlock without desoldering.
https://www.mediafire.com/file/jiitk...Patch.zip/file

Last edited by LatinMcG; 09-11-2021 at 11:05 AM.. Reason: typos
LatinMcG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 12:06 PM   #34
LatinMcG
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: Tampa, FL
My Country: USA/Puerto Rico
Line Voltage: Tickles the tongue
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: RCUnlocker

ok so this does work for 840 G6 32MB only... if you CleanME !
flash this then flash original after bios defaults and Security reset.

but 1 strange thing. notice $FPT goes was south to address 675000 strange..
so patch seems to be insert in the ME and descriptor is changed.
https://www.mediafire.com/file/4t3uh...Patch.zip/file

Last edited by LatinMcG; 09-11-2021 at 12:09 PM..
LatinMcG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 12:53 PM   #35
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 968
Default Re: RCUnlocker

It has been known for a while but I did not go for this path because it requires 2 soldering and 2 turning on.

Only advantage is that it's not needed to remove motherboard.
RethoricalCheese is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 01:34 PM   #36
przemek_79
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Łůdz
My Country: Poland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 19
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Great job thank you so much
przemek_79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 02:24 PM   #37
LatinMcG
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: Tampa, FL
My Country: USA/Puerto Rico
Line Voltage: Tickles the tongue
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Thumbs up Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
It has been known for a while but I did not go for this path because it requires 2 soldering and 2 turning on.

Only advantage is that it's not needed to remove motherboard.
yes it does save time for clip users w good read write capability..
one thing it cold use is cleanME first then drop on patcher to make it universal.

maybe you could add a filename switch for hp like xxxx-HP32MB.bin ?
would save some people time for multiple systems at same time

Last edited by LatinMcG; 09-11-2021 at 02:28 PM.. Reason: ideas
LatinMcG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 02:48 PM   #38
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 968
Default Re: RCUnlocker

I'm going to enable 32MB in the future anyway. Might aswell try that. But not a priority for now.

What clip do you use for wson chips anyway?
RethoricalCheese is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 03:19 PM   #39
LatinMcG
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: Tampa, FL
My Country: USA/Puerto Rico
Line Voltage: Tickles the tongue
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
I'm going to enable 32MB in the future anyway. Might aswell try that. But not a priority for now.

What clip do you use for wson chips anyway?

wson chips . .add solder on sides of pad w wire.

friend uses silicon that came w SVOD3
i desolder w metal shield and low temp

Last edited by LatinMcG; 09-11-2021 at 04:40 PM..
LatinMcG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 07:08 AM   #40
LenBios
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: 22041
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 104
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Hi RethoricalCheese;

hp 840 G5 need only 32MB chip modified, or 16MB?

Thank you
LenBios is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?