Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sony XBR-55A8G 4K OLED image ghosting/jumping around

Hello All,

Hoping one of you wizards might be able to help me, I'm new to TV repair, I'm trying to troubleshoot a ghosting/jumping image on a 4k 55in Sony XBR-55A8G OLED TV.

I have tried re-seating all cables, and lightly manipulating the cables while the TV is on to see if the picture changes with pressure on any of the cables/connectors. I also replaced the TCON board and the ribbon cables connecting the TCON board to the panel, the issue has not changed with the replacements or with any cable manipulation / re-seating.

I saw some people had success on LCD TVs with a similar issue by taping off portions of the ribbon cable pins responsible for the clock signal coming from the TCON board, but in those videos their boards only have two cable outputs, mine has four and I have been unable to identify which pins are for the clock signals. I am not sure if OLED is similar to that.

I have tried searching everywhere I could for a service manual for this tv or a datasheet for the TCON board but cannot find anything. I also have not been able to find any related issues online for this model TV. I am new to this, does anyone have any suggestions on things to try? Or things I should read up on? Or maybe just some general suggestions would be great. Thank you all!

Close up pictures of components and video showing the display issue I am experiencing here:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...2d?usp=sharing

TV Model Number: Sony XBR-55A8G

TCON Board Model Number: LG LE650AQP-AMA2-Y31

Mainboard Model Number: Sony A2229178A / 1-983-249-52

Re: Sony XBR-55A8G 4K OLED image ghosting/jumping around

Taping cables will result in a shut down / error. This t-con is not similar like the ones from lcd/led tv's.
    The problem looks like a gate error but i'm not 100% sure because i've never seen this failure in an oled tv.

Comment