Need pointers to knowledge sources for electromagnetic application

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need pointers to knowledge sources for electromagnetic application

I'm a hobbyist when it comes to playing with circuits. I took a couple of years of electronics courses at the local junior college back in 1990 - 91. I've been a Network Engineer by trade pretty much my entire adult life, so my ability to engineer circuits is very basic in my opinion.

A couple of years ago, I made a magnetic stirrer using a motor from an old hand drill, a speed control circuit that I got from Amazon, and an iridium magnet bar that I fastened to ... something ... that was attached to the shaft of the motor (and I don't recall all of the specifics of how I managed to do that).

The result was a fairly decent magnetic stirrer, but I wanted it to stir vape juice that I would make and the juice was simply too viscous to get any kind of decent vortex in the solution with a Teflon coated magnet shaped like a pill.

So I basically trashed the project and haven't re-visited it until today.

What occurred to me is that we can create a magnetic field in a coil that could potentially be much stronger than the magnet I was using, and if I used enough coils which would be physically arranged in a circle (I would think that even 4 could work), I could use an Arduino to fire them in sequence at precise intervals and cause the magnetic pill to spin on center. And with the stronger magnetic field being generated in the coils, it would in theory be strong enough to create that vortex that I want even in the more viscous liquid.

And THAT is about as far as my knowledge on the subject goes as it applies to this application ...