Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2019, 10:25 AM   #1
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,422
Default Sony -kv2024 pic but no sound

Hi guys; i'm here in Portugal in vacation on my house for 2 weeks since i live in US , i have here a Sony 20"old tube to watch locals with Digital box and
coaxial RF converter , i only have a solder iron and solder, i do not think it's the audio amp, since when i manual fine tune to the right i gain sound but loose pic, is this a tuner issue? also could it be a bad solder in the tuner? without my testing tools is kind hard to troubleshoot,any thoughts ,thanks
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 10:33 AM   #2
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,139
Default Re: Sony -kv2024 pic but no sound

Seems more like a mismatch in broadcast standard, looks like the tv is PAL, what does your RF converter box output? I suspect it is NTSC
The tv's sound carrier is at 5.5Mhz, NTSC is at 4.5Mhz

Last edited by R_J; 07-31-2019 at 10:56 AM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 10:39 AM   #3
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,476
Default Re: Sony -kv2024 pic but no sound

Can you try a dvd player or something?
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 11:23 AM   #4
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,422
Default Re: Sony -kv2024 pic but no sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Seems more like a mismatch in broadcast standard, looks like the tv is PAL, what does your RF converter box output? I suspect it is NTSC
The tv's sound carrier is at 5.5Mhz, NTSC is at 4.5Mhz
Thanks R_J in fact TV is NTSC/PAL and has a manual switch NTSC/Pal and i keep it in auto when i want to watch Pal and NTSC auto, also if i only want NTSC i switch it to NTSC, this tv already worked and had sound with the same set up i have now, i'm thinking about opening it ,maybe there is a way to switch wires to keep it PAL only instead of NTSC /PAL auto, also this tv only has Coaxial input .I use this RF Coaxial Converter https://www.kuantokusta.pt/imagemsom...300-p-3-143288

Last edited by ivtec; 07-31-2019 at 11:25 AM..
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 12:13 PM   #5
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,139
Default Re: Sony -kv2024 pic but no sound

I looked at two different kv-2024 Sony tv's and neither show a pal/ntsc switch? So it must be totally different model? The modulator seems to be pal only output? It only says what channel it outputs on, not what standard it is.
Is this the model?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SONY-KV2024E-ADV1.jpg (107.9 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by R_J; 07-31-2019 at 01:01 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 04:35 PM   #6
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,422
Default Re: Sony -kv2024 pic but no sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
I looked at two different kv-2024 Sony tv's and neither show a pal/ntsc switch? So it must be totally different model? The modulator seems to be pal only output? It only says what channel it outputs on, not what standard it is.
Is this the model?
Thanks R_J that's exactly that mod .the modelator is Pal only ,the tv is also Pal and NTSC ,it did work fine for some time.

Last edited by ivtec; 07-31-2019 at 04:39 PM..
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 04:45 PM   #7
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,139
Default Re: Sony -kv2024 pic but no sound

I could'nt see where this ntsc/pal/auto switch was, but I found an owners manual, and I guess it is the switch below sub volume. How does it tune if you set the switch to ntsc?, How does it tune if you set it to pal? if it tunes the same, it could just be a dirty slide switch

Last edited by R_J; 07-31-2019 at 05:05 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2019, 05:05 PM   #8
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,422
Default Re: Sony -kv2024 pic but no sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
I could'nt see where this ntsc/pal/auto switch was, but I found an owners manual, and I guess it is the switch below sub volume. How does it tune if you set the switch to ntsc?, How does it tune if you set it to pal? if it tunes the same, it could just be a dirty slide switch
Hi R-J the switch goes up and down, if i switch up it's in auto mode - means it automatically changes a channels either Pal or NTSC signal, if i keep in NTSC only NTSC signal is provided .unfortunately
a don't have here a NTSC source to test if sound is good on NTSC. i don't have here any test tools just a solder iron and solder, this is my vacation house
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?