I need to make a fan controller.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need to make a fan controller.

So here's the deal, I put some new fans in my server to replaced acouple of near dead/dead fans. The new fans are LOUD! but they push alot of air.

Anyways I have 4 of these babies pushing air pass my raid array to keep those drives ice cold.

The fan itself takes 12v 0.34 amps or 4.08 watts.

I can't find anything that meets my needs.

I'm looking for a master control, not individual control. Something like APEVIA FC-01 Multi Fan Speed Controller but can handle more amperage, 1.2a is low.

I was thinking about building my own, but I'm not an electronics engineer so I'm not sure where to begin.

Any ideas?

what would I need?

Re: I need to make a fan controller.

Originally posted by Mad_Professor View Post
    So here's the deal, I put some new fans in my server to replaced acouple of near dead/dead fans. The new fans are LOUD! but they push alot of air.

Anyways I have 4 of these babies pushing air pass my raid array to keep those drives ice cold.

The fan itself takes 12v 0.34 amps or 4.08 watts.

I can't find anything that meets my needs.

I'm looking for a master control, not individual control. Something like APEVIA FC-01 Multi Fan Speed Controller but can handle more amperage, 1.2a is low.

I was thinking about building my own, but I'm not an electronics engineer so I'm not sure where to begin.

Any ideas?

what would I need?
    I am not an eletrical engineer... yet (3 more years of school), but I have an idea:

you could maybe use some sort of a thermistor circuit? thermistors decrease resistance as temperature goes up... so put a thermistor and a pot in series with the fans and with careful part choices and tuning of the pot you have a temp control circuit. for optimal control, put the thermistor at the exhaust of the air system.
    sigpic

(Insert witty quote here)

Comment

^