Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Razer Blade RZ09-01953 suspect faulty bios, ordered chip but not the same

Hi all

I’m new. Not a technician but dabble in soldering / repairs as a hobby.

I’ve got hold of a Razer Blade 14 RZ09-01953 which doesn’t appear to be able to produce a display. It will power on ok, fans spin up, cpu, gpu + chipset get warm but no display.

Has 19.78v across the board on all the fuses and 5v and 3.3v present at the two 2R2 resistors near the psu area of the board.

The previous owner said he was flashing the bios and it died so suspect (for now) it needs a new bios chip.

I ordered one from a company on eBay and installed it but machine won’t power on at all with it in place. Reinstalling old chip and board returns to powering on as above. I’m changing the chip at U51/U50 from the guidance of the notes received with the eBay chip.

The two chips are totally different. I’m no expert on ICs so wondering if anyone can shed any light on whether I’ve been sent the wrong chip.

I’ve got a chip reader coming in the post to see if I can resurrect the old chip but still waiting on it to arrive.

Any help thoroughly appreciated.
    Last edited by Themi; 05-21-2020, 09:38 AM.

Re: Razer Blade RZ09-01953 suspect faulty bios, ordered chip but not the same

Suppose your bios is corrupt when the previous owner started flashing bios that doesn’t mean the bios chip is Dead, you just need a good working bios bin And a special tool to do this job , You have two different manufacturers of the bios chip, The bios chip you bought from eBay winbond , you have to contact eBay seller to find out if it’s a empty chip or with a bios bin ? as for the pic you have solder the new bio chip pin 8 with pin1 , remove it clean it and upload a new photo
    Last edited by Techtiger; 05-21-2020, 11:51 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by techtiger View Post