Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2018, 04:36 PM   #1
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Talking FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Some Got it as a X-Mas present from wifey. Lasted about 30mins and then it was absolutely dead.
Checked the PSU and it was loaded down to next to nothing. Unplugged the main board from the PSU and all is O.k. on the PSU. Ahh! Main board problem!
Took the main board out and find a short at T2 (78L05) regulator between the input and GND pin. Took that out including the cap that is next to it and still have a short. I also measured shorts between C53 and C57. Took these out, took the 2 IC's under that heat sink out and still a short! Running out of options I decided to go old fashioned way hunting a short. Feed Power! Fed 5V 1.2A on the shorted line, doused half of the board with alcohol and success! SMD cap C81 bubbling! Replaced that with another cap the same size I found on a TV main board, put that in, soldered in all the parts I had taken out, reassembled it and I've got a working Function Generator.

So in short: If you have a Feeltech / Kuman FY6600 that doesn't work and the PSU is good, check C81 on the main board. It is under that little heat sink that is on top of of the 2 IC's.

Merry X-Mas!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0949ii.jpg (788.9 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0951.jpg (842.2 KB, 38 views)
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 12:03 PM   #2
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,937
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Was that heatsink specifically for those two ICs? Weird... expecting a SOIC8 and SOP8 to dissipate that much heat is not a good sign...?
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 03:09 PM   #3
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Yes. The funny thing is that the heat sink only covers the both IC's only to 75% and there was no thermal paste either.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 04:45 PM   #4
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Talking Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

I decided to open her up again and read the Winbond 25Q16JV SPI flash.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair...nal-generator/

My firmware version is 3.2.1

Enjoy!
Attached Files
File Type: rar Feeltech Kuman FY6600 ver.3.2.1 Winbond 25Q16JV.rar (172.1 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by CapLeaker; 02-23-2019 at 05:07 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 05:22 PM   #5
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

... forgot the schematics to that thing.
Attached Files
File Type: zip FY6600 schematics.zip (219.1 KB, 26 views)
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 09:05 PM   #6
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Now I have to figure out how to read the STM32 in the head unit. That is where the actual firmware is. The stuff on the Winbond doesn't look like firmware.

Did anyone try to copy and flash an STM32 before?
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 06:57 AM   #7
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,650
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Took the main board out and find a short at T2 (78L05) regulator between the input and GND pin. Took that out including the cap that is next to it and still have a short. I also measured shorts between C53 and C57. Took these out, took the 2 IC's under that heat sink out and still a short! Running out of options I decided to go old fashioned way hunting a short. Feed Power! Fed 5V 1.2A on the shorted line, doused half of the board with alcohol and success! SMD cap C81 bubbling! Replaced that with another cap the same size I found on a TV main board, put that in, soldered in all the parts I had taken out, reassembled it and I've got a working Function Generator.
This is very interesting in how you found the shorts that were on this board
This was very interesting reading I enjoyed it Thanks for sharing this
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 02:31 PM   #8
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Yeah, that old trick saved my butt a few times.

I've managed to get the 3.3 firmware, some .FYbi file for the STM32 from the manufacturer. Now I have to figure out how to update that Function Generator.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 03:33 PM   #9
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,746
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

ask your source, stlink / serial uses HEX files.
they may have written a special bootloader - possibly using the usb port.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 04:18 PM   #10
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
ask your source, stlink / serial uses HEX files.
they may have written a special bootloader - possibly using the usb port.
That's the problem. FeelTech doesn't provide that unless that is something brand new. Nothing is available from their website. All they say is: send it in.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 08:02 PM   #11
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

This is supposed to be the version 3.3 firmware for the STM32 on the FY6600 that I've managed to download from FeelTech.
Attached Files
File Type: zip FY6600-DDS ver. 3.3.zip (97.8 KB, 14 views)
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 09:21 PM   #12
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,746
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

that's encrypted binary with a custom header.
install the pc remote-control software and see if it has an upgrade option in it somewhere.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 02:28 PM   #13
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Back to this puppy. Had to grab an old windblows machine and really install that software. Nope, you can't upgrade the Firmware through the PC-software v. 5.5 and that is the latest. Maybe I'll try the software from the newer FY-6800 later on and see what that does.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 01:52 AM   #14
bcgelandewagen
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Vancouver
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Some Got it as a X-Mas present from wifey. Lasted about 30mins and then it was absolutely dead.
Checked the PSU and it was loaded down to next to nothing. Unplugged the main board from the PSU and all is O.k. on the PSU. Ahh! Main board problem!
Took the main board out and find a short at T2 (78L05) regulator between the input and GND pin. Took that out including the cap that is next to it and still have a short. I also measured shorts between C53 and C57. Took these out, took the 2 IC's under that heat sink out and still a short! Running out of options I decided to go old fashioned way hunting a short. Feed Power! Fed 5V 1.2A on the shorted line, doused half of the board with alcohol and success! SMD cap C81 bubbling! Replaced that with another cap the same size I found on a TV main board, put that in, soldered in all the parts I had taken out, reassembled it and I've got a working Function Generator.

So in short: If you have a Feeltech / Kuman FY6600 that doesn't work and the PSU is good, check C81 on the main board. It is under that little heat sink that is on top of of the 2 IC's.

Merry X-Mas!
I have experienced a similar issue where turning on the unit I can hear relay clicks but no display on the led screens. The Red power LED and green channel LEDs seem to be on but faintly. Do you know the value of the C81? I downloaded the schematics but i did not find the value. I'm not very good at troubleshooting I am still learning along.


Thank you,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fy6600.jpg (540.3 KB, 9 views)
bcgelandewagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 03:50 PM   #15
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: FeelTech / Kuman FY6600 DDS Function Arbitrary Waveform Generator repair

yours has a different problem than mine had. Mine was totally dead, as one of the voltage rails was shorted to GND. Not sure what problem yours has. Maybe give it a good visual under the microscope. Check all the voltage rails, 12, 5, 3.3, 1.2V. There is a TTL, maybe read it out.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?