Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2021, 08:52 PM   #1
ibgm
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: boston, ma.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

Hi- I bought this station at a yard sale a few years ago for short money, recently the nylon knurled nut that holds down the shaft that holds the iron tip cracked, does anyone know where I can get another one? The iron itself is the SAI-690. I really like the system, but I can't find any sources for spare parts. Hate to throw it out.
ibgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2021, 07:56 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,788
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

pictures please.
a lot of irons are clones of other irons - so pictures are handy

SAI-690 is a METCAL part number!!!

Last edited by stj; 11-18-2021 at 07:59 AM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2021, 08:04 AM   #3
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,788
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

is it this?
looks a bit like a xytronics iron.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2021, 11:28 AM   #4
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 606
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

Probably print one of buy new iron (just the part that you hold), you can get these clone irons cheap on ali.
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2021, 05:11 PM   #5
ibgm
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: boston, ma.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

Yes STJ- That's looks exactly like it. It does say SAI-690 and has the OK industries logo on the sticker. The black plastic nut that holds down the shaft is what is cracked. I wish I could find one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20211118_173926.jpg (825.4 KB, 33 views)
ibgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2021, 05:43 PM   #6
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,146
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

If you can't find the part, make a ring out of metal (thin copper or tin) that will fit around the ring to hold it together.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2021, 07:01 PM   #7
ibgm
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: boston, ma.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

I'll try and Mcgyver something. Maybe the high temp JB Weld. Nothing to lose at this point. Just hate to throw it away. Thanks for listening everybody!
ibgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2022, 04:08 PM   #8
ibgm
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: boston, ma.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

Stalked EBAY for a couple months, found a brand new replacement "OK" iron from a great e-bayer for $18 delivered!! My station lives again!!
ibgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2022, 08:49 PM   #9
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,860
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibgm View Post
found a brand new replacement "OK" iron from a great e-bayer for $18 delivered!! My station lives again!!
Nice! Good to hear you have your station back.

As for the old iron handle, I do have a few suggestions, if you want to fix the old one as a "backup".
For starters, see if the plastic on the cracked nut reacts to PVC glue (the type used for gluing sewer / wastewater pipes) or ABS glue. If you apply a small dab to the surface, wait approximately a minute and then smudge it around and see the plastic becoming melted / dissolved into the glue, then break the nut and re-glue with PVC/ABS glue back together. Depending on the plastic (typically ABS, PVC, PS, and sometimes PC), it may bond back together just as strong as it was originally.
But if the above doesn't work, you can try applying rubber cement / contact cement glue around the whole ring, and then wrap with a layer or two of some hard material (or several layers of paper and contact cement might do too.) Contact cement glue is flexible (looks like orange/brown bubble gum when dry) and can't hold two objects together in a rigid manner over a small surface area. But when backed up with another material for strength and rigidity, it can. And the good thing about contact cement is that it has overall good resistance to temperature.
There are probably other ways to "McGyver" this too, of course.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 10:33 PM   #10
ibgm
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: boston, ma.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

Thanks, I'll try anything, always good to have a back-up! It is a great station that gets hot enough to melt the high temp RoHS solder!
ibgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 12:10 PM   #11
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,788
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

the RoHS solder isnt that much higher in temp,
the problem is china is using a lot of solder that is almost pure tin - maybe even recycled.
it doesnt like to reflow no matter what temp you use.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 07:55 PM   #12
ibgm
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: boston, ma.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default Re: OK SA-1000 Soldering Station

I have dealt with these high tin boards, I flood them with regular solder and let it sit for a bit. I've fixed some older motherboards on computer test stations where I work. If you're not careful, you can rip up the runs on the circuit board. I hate those boards. Unfortunately, we have test stations where I work, that were designed in the 90's that won't run on new computers. So we have to maintain these old systems.
ibgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?