Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2022, 02:30 PM   #1241
markwm
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: London
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesko356 View Post
You mean CH341a.
Which version of AsProgrammer exactly?
CH341a is not the best tool for the job, but you can try these:
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...3&postcount=21
Hi, yes I do mean CH341a. I've tried a few different versions of AsProgrammer including

2.2.0.7
1.4.0 (someone advised that one)

I've tried NeoProgrammer V2.2.0.8

I've also tried SkyGz CH341a Programmer V1.18

Colibri is the one I haven't but is it really going to be down to the software?
markwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2022, 12:59 AM   #1242
Markus1741
Senior Member
 
Markus1741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
City & State: Bayern
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 152
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by markwm View Post
Hi, yes I do mean CH341a. I've tried a few different versions of AsProgrammer including

2.2.0.7
1.4.0 (someone advised that one)

I've tried NeoProgrammer V2.2.0.8

I've also tried SkyGz CH341a Programmer V1.18

Colibri is the one I haven't but is it really going to be down to the software?
I use CH341a exclusively under Ubuntu or Debian.
And never had any problems.

sudo flashrom -p ch341a_spi -c W25Q64.V -r /Path/To/Dump_01.bin
Markus1741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 11:42 AM   #1243
gtiphil
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
City & State: uk
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 16
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Lenovo T450, unlocker worked perfect 1st time. Many Thanks
gtiphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 03:30 PM   #1244
markwm
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: London
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

So, having tried everything Windows has to offer I'm now trying with Linux.

Flashrom gives me the following though:

Code:
Using clock_gettime for delay loops (clk_id: 1, resolution: 1ns).
Found Winbond flash chip "W25Q128.V" (16384 kB, SPI) on ch341a_spi.
Reading old flash chip contents... done.
Erasing and writing flash chip... FAILED at 0x00000000! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x00000fff: 0xa57
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
FAILED at 0x00000000! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x00007fff: 0x4a68
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
FAILED at 0x00000000! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x0000ffff: 0x88a8
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
FAILED at 0x00000000! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x00ffffff: 0x8d0c58
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
FAILED at 0x00000001! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x00ffffff: 0x951344
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
Looking for another erase function.
Looking for another erase function.
No usable erase functions left.
FAILED!
Uh oh. Erase/write failed. Checking if anything has changed.
Reading current flash chip contents... done.
Apparently at least some data has changed.
Your flash chip is in an unknown state.
Any ideas guys?

Last edited by SMDFlea; 01-27-2022 at 03:45 AM..
markwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 06:06 PM   #1245
manutran
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Brussels
My Country: Belgium
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Hello Guys. I need a bios clean and with no password for Lenovo Thinkpad Carbon X1 Gen6
manutran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 06:43 PM   #1246
AAAC
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Zacatecas, Zacatecas.
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 290
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

@manutran
You need to read original BIOS, then patch it, do the unlock procedure and then program chip with original bios.
AAAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 03:47 AM   #1247
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10,744
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by manutran View Post
Hello Guys. I need a bios clean and with no password for Lenovo Thinkpad Carbon X1 Gen6
All the instructions are at post #1 .
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 03:49 AM   #1248
simkard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Lyon
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Hello everyone,

Any chance that this auto-patcher might be compliant with laptop models like T14s ?
I'm able to gather a backup from the BIOS chip using a SOIC-8 clamp.

I will try the auto-patcher first, but I'm totally open for your suggestions on these 10th generation models.

Thanks !
simkard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 03:52 AM   #1249
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10,744
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by simkard View Post
Hello everyone,

Any chance that this auto-patcher might be compliant with laptop models like T14s ?
I'm able to gather a backup from the BIOS chip using a SOIC-8 clamp.

I will try the auto-patcher first, but I'm totally open for your suggestions on these 10th generation models.

Thanks !
From post #1 Quote: "Lenovo machines up to the 8th generation " .

Find a T14s thread to post in,if there isn`t one then start your own thread.
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 04:00 AM   #1250
simkard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Lyon
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMDFlea View Post
From post #1 Quote: "Lenovo machines up to the 8th generation " .

Find a T14s thread to post in,if there isn`t one then start your own thread.
Hello SMDFlea,

I know that this auto-patcher seems to be limited to 8th generation, but I was hoping that "maybe", by chance, it might work similarly on 10th generation BIOS contents.

So if I understand correctly, for now the answer is "maybe not" unfortunately.

Thanks anyway.
simkard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 04:52 PM   #1251
adrianekspert
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Chojna
My Country: Polend
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

can you help i have a problem with the script ????
c
adrianekspert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2022, 07:06 AM   #1252
ChetanSethi
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: New Delhi
My Country: India
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

how to patch 8,9,10th gen laptops am using patch 0.2 motherboard is no display
ChetanSethi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2022, 09:10 AM   #1253
Markus1741
Senior Member
 
Markus1741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
City & State: Bayern
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 152
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by markwm View Post
So, having tried everything Windows has to offer I'm now trying with Linux.

Flashrom gives me the following though:

Code:
Using clock_gettime for delay loops (clk_id: 1, resolution: 1ns).
Found Winbond flash chip "W25Q128.V" (16384 kB, SPI) on ch341a_spi.
Reading old flash chip contents... done.
Erasing and writing flash chip... FAILED at 0x00000000! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x00000fff: 0xa57
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
FAILED at 0x00000000! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x00007fff: 0x4a68
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
FAILED at 0x00000000! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x0000ffff: 0x88a8
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
FAILED at 0x00000000! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x00ffffff: 0x8d0c58
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
FAILED at 0x00000001! Expected=0xff, Found=0x00, failed byte count from 0x00000000-0x00ffffff: 0x951344
ERASE FAILED!
Reading current flash chip contents... done. Looking for another erase function.
Looking for another erase function.
Looking for another erase function.
No usable erase functions left.
FAILED!
Uh oh. Erase/write failed. Checking if anything has changed.
Reading current flash chip contents... done.
Apparently at least some data has changed.
Your flash chip is in an unknown state.
Any ideas guys?
The error message can come from the clip not sitting properly.
Reconnect the clip and try again.
Otherwise there is a possibility that the chip is defective, which rarely happens, the things are otherwise quite robust.

Good luck ...
Markus1741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2022, 11:58 PM   #1254
richdee23
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: North York
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Would it be possible to remove password and computrace from this bios dump? I tried auto patcher but it doesn't work with file that i dumped. I get a checksum error then it restores the original data.
Attached Files
File Type: zip p120md.zip (4.55 MB, 5 views)
richdee23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 12:44 AM   #1255
AAAC
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Zacatecas, Zacatecas.
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 290
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

@richdee23
You should pay attention to the error, I suggest to READ chip and SAVE it, do this 3 times and then compare that all 3 files are exactly the same. If you use WinRAR you can compress all 3 files, open the compressed file and at the far right there’s a column named CRC32, if the values of all 3 files are the same, that means the files are identical.
Are you using CH341A programmer? If so, try using Colibri software with it.

Supervisor Password and CompuTrace setting is not stored in bios dump, that’s why it’s important to have a good bios backup as you will use this file to complete the procedure, the patched file is used temporarily just to perform the unlock.
AAAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 01:33 AM   #1256
richdee23
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: North York
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

I did a CRC32 check with winrar and out of 4 copies i've extracted they all match when using my CH341A programmer. So after i create the dump of my bios whats next? This is my first time doing this
richdee23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 05:42 AM   #1257
AAAC
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
City & State: Zacatecas, Zacatecas.
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 290
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

@richdee23
Read post #1 of this thread, you may now be able to patch one of the verified bios copies. What’s your ThinkPad model and bios dump size?
AAAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 05:56 AM   #1258
richdee23
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: North York
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAAC View Post
@richdee23
Read post #1 of this thread, you may now be able to patch one of the verified bios copies. What’s your ThinkPad model and bios dump size?
I have a Lenovo P1 20MD

The file size is 8mb. I attached it in the post above.
richdee23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 10:46 AM   #1259
feherhollo
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
City & State: Budapest
My Country: Hungary
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Lenovo T540P and W541 bios password.

Have 2 bios chip. Which chip should I patch??
feherhollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 01:27 PM   #1260
Markus1741
Senior Member
 
Markus1741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
City & State: Bayern
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 152
Default Re: LENOVO BIOS AUTO-PATCHER for Supervisor Password Removal

Quote:
Originally Posted by feherhollo View Post
Lenovo T540P and W541 bios password.

Have 2 bios chip. Which chip should I patch??
The Auto-Patcher only works with the 4MB chip.
I've already unlocked the Lenovo T440p with it.
Good luck ...
Markus1741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:08 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?