Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2023, 03:52 AM   #1
dariuxzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
City & State: milan
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Pin chip bios broken

Hi, I wanted to try to remove the pass on the bios from HP Elitebook 845 G7, but when I unsoldered the "Winbond 25Q256JVEN" chip, a "GND" pin broke, so the chip no longer works (I tried to insert it in the programmer anyway, but it reads another chip). What should I do? Should I buy the same chip, like on aliexpress, and solder it back into the board? Thank you for your suggestion
dariuxzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 04:20 AM   #2
mon2
Badcaps Veteran
 
mon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Windsor, Ontario
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,739
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Post a picture of the ic with the broken pin.
mon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 06:28 AM   #3
dariuxzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
City & State: milan
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by mon2 View Post
Post a picture of the ic with the broken pin.
I have attached the photo. thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20230323_132540-01.jpg (417.7 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg 20230323_133538-01.jpg (392.1 KB, 17 views)

Last edited by dariuxzy; 03-23-2023 at 06:40 AM..
dariuxzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 07:01 AM   #4
mon2
Badcaps Veteran
 
mon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Windsor, Ontario
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,739
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Attach a wire to the MIDDLE large pad under the chip - fairly confident (but not 100%) that this metal belly is also ground.

So in your reader, apply the soldered wire to your programmer tool's ground and test if it still works or not.

Update:

It is worth testing but also note the attached common footprint details for this WSON package.
Attached Images
File Type: png wson_pad.png (42.7 KB, 13 views)

Last edited by mon2; 03-23-2023 at 07:06 AM..
mon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 07:42 AM   #5
dariuxzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
City & State: milan
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by mon2 View Post
Attach a wire to the MIDDLE large pad under the chip - fairly confident (but not 100%) that this metal belly is also ground.

So in your reader, apply the soldered wire to your programmer tool's ground and test if it still works or not.

Update:

It is worth testing but also note the attached common footprint details for this WSON package.
if it works and i edit the bin file by making the correct changes to remove the password, should i buy a new chip and write the bin edit file?

Update:
being is a thermal pad and not being electrically connected to anything, it won't work anyway

Last edited by dariuxzy; 03-23-2023 at 08:32 AM..
dariuxzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 08:32 AM   #6
mon2
Badcaps Veteran
 
mon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Windsor, Ontario
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,739
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

I am not a bios guy (dog) but yes, do recommend that you purchase another fresh bios for this repair. Be sure that you purchase one with the exact part number.

You will need to post the full bin file contents in the bios section and request for the password removal. Someone will review and post a clean image for you.

Do review the datasheet to confirm if the bios is a low voltage (1v8) vs. 3v3 flash device. Respectively, you need to be sure your programmer can support the same voltage during the read / write process.
mon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 08:48 AM   #7
dariuxzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
City & State: milan
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by mon2 View Post
I am not a bios guy (dog) but yes, do recommend that you purchase another fresh bios for this repair. Be sure that you purchase one with the exact part number.

You will need to post the full bin file contents in the bios section and request for the password removal. Someone will review and post a clean image for you.

Do review the datasheet to confirm if the bios is a low voltage (1v8) vs. 3v3 flash device. Respectively, you need to be sure your programmer can support the same voltage during the read / write process.
Being is a thermal pad and not being electrically connected to anything, it won't work anyway.
so, if I buy a new "Winbond 25Q256JVEN" I will find nothing inside its bin file. What will I have to write?

Last edited by dariuxzy; 03-23-2023 at 08:50 AM..
dariuxzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 09:20 AM   #8
mon2
Badcaps Veteran
 
mon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Windsor, Ontario
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,739
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Yes, it is a bit of a pickle.

1) you can post the request in the BIOS forum and hope that someone may have a bios image to offer.

2) see attached - is that a metal dot that could be the missing ground connection? If yes, with extreme care, you could try to drill away some of the plastic housing to allow enough space to solder back a wire for his connection.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ground.jpg (288.3 KB, 11 views)
mon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 09:33 AM   #9
dariuxzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
City & State: milan
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by mon2 View Post
Yes, it is a bit of a pickle.

1) you can post the request in the BIOS forum and hope that someone may have a bios image to offer.

2) see attached - is that a metal dot that could be the missing ground connection? If yes, with extreme care, you could try to drill away some of the plastic housing to allow enough space to solder back a wire for his connection.
i found this. could it be it?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20230323_163425_Gallery.jpg (1.40 MB, 12 views)
dariuxzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 09:53 AM   #10
mon2
Badcaps Veteran
 
mon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Windsor, Ontario
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,739
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

It is worth a try
mon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 10:25 AM   #11
dariuxzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
City & State: milan
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by mon2 View Post
It is worth a try
anyway, if it doesn't work and i buy a new chip, can i use the bin file of someone who already posted it to remove the password from anyone? (obviously already edited)
dariuxzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 10:32 AM   #12
mon2
Badcaps Veteran
 
mon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Windsor, Ontario
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,739
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Yes you can.
mon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 02:30 PM   #13
dariuxzy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
City & State: milan
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pin chip bios broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by mon2 View Post
Yes you can.
Ok, thanks. I will let you know
dariuxzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:57 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?