Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2018, 01:40 PM   #1
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Vizio E70u-D3

"I've seen Georgia on the map!! It's poiple!!"
-Jeff Foxworthy

Just got in a nice Vizio E70u-D3... Comes on, displays good, clear, crisp..

Everything is purple.. All the white is a deep alien purple and all the colored stuff has a purple tint..

OK, I say.. That's different..

I am thinking a bad LVDS cable, maybe a misconnection on the TCON..

Crack open the case...

The LEDS are purple!!

I kid you not... A deep alien looking purple.. I felt like I just opened up Jackson Polluck's TV...

I have been doing TVs for quite a few years now and I have never seen PURPLE LEDs...

As you can see from the pic, a cable goes from the power PCB to the main video board and another cable goes from the main video board to the LED ARRAY..

I am thinking bad frequency on the power PCB?? Something screwy with the main video board?? The display is perfect, just purple tinted..

Anyone have an idea???
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180413_152238.jpg (334.0 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg 20180413_153700.jpg (402.7 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg 20180413_153336.jpg (359.8 KB, 42 views)

Last edited by Michale32086; 04-13-2018 at 01:41 PM..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 01:47 PM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,637
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

If you disconnect the cable from T-CON, will you see purple glowing screen?
What is the LCD panel model number?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 01:57 PM   #3
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

I completely disconnected the TCON as shown in the pic.. Still get the purple LEDs. There is no flicker or anything. It's like the LEDs are supposed to be purple..

Panel stickers in second pic..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180413_155458.jpg (626.7 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 20180413_155504.jpg (281.8 KB, 14 views)
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 03:17 PM   #4
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
freakaftr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Wierd! Wrong Kelvin for the tv. Wonder if it has something to do with the diffuser sheets
__________________
Did I leave the soldering iron on?
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 03:18 PM   #5
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
freakaftr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

That tcon board has Sharp achetecture. Probably the sharp selloff to Hisense

Do you have any backlight adjustment in the menus?

Last edited by freakaftr8; 04-13-2018 at 03:21 PM..
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 03:25 PM   #6
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,637
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

May be the LED's are the RGB type?
Have to look up LCD panel spec sheet.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 04:09 PM   #7
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakaftr8 View Post
Wierd! Wrong Kelvin for the tv. Wonder if it has something to do with the diffuser sheets
Don't think that's it.. The pic that shows that the actual LEDs are purple..

It looks like purple TommyKnocker glow...
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 04:09 PM   #8
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakaftr8 View Post
That tcon board has Sharp achetecture. Probably the sharp selloff to Hisense

Do you have any backlight adjustment in the menus?
I'll check that first thing in the AM.. About 0200hrs EDT...
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 12:58 AM   #9
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

OK Checked the menu settings..

Pretty extensive Color Calibration menu..

But no settings changed the purple tint..

I was able to "cancel" the BLUE and the purple tint on the display kinda disappeared. But the actual LEDs did not change color... They were still purple..

Is it possible that this was a manufacturer error.. I mean like they just put in the wrong color of LEDs???
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180414_025132.jpg (378.0 KB, 22 views)
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 01:05 AM   #10
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBhqpwC5ekg

The "fix" according to that is to replace all the LED strips..

Last edited by Michale32086; 04-14-2018 at 01:09 AM..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 06:15 AM   #11
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,823
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...t=29019&page=2 some info there for service menu adjustments, may be a different problem tho.
nomoresonys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 08:23 AM   #12
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

OK Update on this...

I am just going to throw a bunch of data out there in hopes that it makes sense to someone..

First off I got it disassembled down to the bare LEDs.. I am fairly sure I didn't crack the panel.. hope hope...

Once off, the LEDs throw off a distinctive blue-ish glow, rather than a purple.. But it's close enough that i can see how it could look purple under all the mylar sheets and diffusers and panel...

However, some of the LEDs are distinctly white, while the majority are definitely distinctly blue-ish.. The pictures don't show it properly, but the LEDs are distinctly blue-ish, not purple... And a handful are distinctly white..


As you can see by the pictures, one full strip is off and another half strip is off.. but I DID swap those strips out for others that are fully working so I know the strips are good.. It must be in the Power PCB or PCB to Strip connector...

That's what I got so far..

"But what does it all MEAN, Basil!!??"
-Austin Powers

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180420_100700.jpg (275.5 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg 20180420_101144.jpg (300.8 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg 20180420_101132.jpg (371.8 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 20180420_100647.jpg (350.4 KB, 27 views)
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 08:42 AM   #13
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Closeups of the connectors that don't light up full strip and half strip..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180420_103712.jpg (312.4 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg 20180420_103704.jpg (368.1 KB, 16 views)
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 08:53 AM   #14
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,429
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Change out the LED strips for the COOL WHITE type. This will fix your problem. You could probably use the PURPLE LED strips as decorative lights.
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 09:34 AM   #15
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew F. Ali View Post
Change out the LED strips for the COOL WHITE type. This will fix your problem. You could probably use the PURPLE LED strips as decorative lights.
Yea, it's weird that this entire set would have the wrong LEDs...
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 09:35 AM   #16
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

OK I figured out the issue with the LED strips that don't come on.. Turns out when I was using my LED tester before cracking the unit open, I enlarged the connectors so they are not making a good connection..

Crimping them back into shape solved the not coming on problem..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 05:44 AM   #17
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

OK I ordered another set of LED strips.. Seller was kind enough to throw in the LED power PCB connector...

Hopefully, the LED strips was the issue....

I'll update the thread when they arrive...

Thanx to all for all the help..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 08:53 AM   #18
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Taaa daaaaa!!!!

And no cracks in the display panel.. so far.

I have to admit, I was skeptical of the idea that I could have an entire set of LED strips the wrong color...

What could have possible caused that?? Is there a market for a set purple/blacklight LED strips??

Anywhoo, we're cooking with gas now..

One last dilemma..

When I broke down the TV to the bare panel (I am a one man operation) I laid the TV on a flat surface and then proceeded to remove all the screws and fasteners that held the metal back of the TV to the panel and diffusing sheets... I then lifted the metal back off. Not an easy task, considering I have two bum shoulders..

My original plan was to simply reverse the process.. Unfortunately, that plan did not survive contact with reality.. When I took the metal back off, the plastic frame that holds the diffuser sheets in place and forms the support frame for the display panel came off in pieces.. Not broken, but designed sections..

So, being nimble on my feet, I took the diffuser sheets off the display panel and placed them onto the metal back of the TV (LEDs facing up)... I then proceeded to re-affix the panel support frame on top of the diffuser sheets and secured to the metal frame back...

So, now I am left with this... The assembled metal back and the display panel facing downward...

I am THINKING that my best bet would be to flip the metal back of the TV and, with the LEDs and diffuser sheets facing downward, place the assembled unit onto the display panel very VERY gently.. I can probably get my daughter to come out and help me lift it and place it..

The only other alternative is to take the display panel, flip it front side up and then place it gently onto the assembled back part of the TV... At first I was thinking that's the worst possible way to go. But, as I typed it out and visualized it, it didn't seem to be as bad.. Especially if I have a helper to help me maintain the integrity of the panel without any major bends...

What's ya'all's thinking???

That last pic is just because my granddaughter is so gosh darned cute..

EDITED TO ADJUST THE ORIENTATION OF THE PICS...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180424_093155.jpg (504.1 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg princess5.jpg (77.7 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg 20180424_103118.jpg (400.8 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg 20180424_103123.jpg (281.5 KB, 31 views)

Last edited by Michale32086; 04-24-2018 at 08:55 AM..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 09:53 AM   #19
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,637
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Can we see the pictures of the old LED with the LENS removed?
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 09:57 AM   #20
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Vizio E70u-D3

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Can we see the pictures of the old LED with the LENS removed?
Do you need them powered???

Went ahead and did both powered and unpowered..

Although the pics make the LEDs look purple, they are a definitive blue...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180424_120453.jpg (390.5 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg 20180424_120527.jpg (267.5 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg 20180424_120542.jpg (370.8 KB, 28 views)

Last edited by Michale32086; 04-24-2018 at 10:08 AM..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?