Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ultra LSP650 PSU Worth Fixing?

Hello Everyone.

I've successfully repaired a monitor or two in my life. Thanks in part to badcaps.net of course.

I obtained an Ultra LSP650 PSU (Worth about $60).

It has at least 8 bad caps.

I've never worked on a PSU before. Is this worth the trouble?

Should the tiny caps in the pictures also be replaced?
    Can anyone offer suggestions for replacement caps?

From what I can see:
    6 - 2200uF 10V
    2 - 2200uF 16V
    1 - 470uF 16V

Thanks for any help or information.

Attached Files
    Last edited by StodgyWaif; 08-19-2014, 06:26 PM.

Re: Ultra LSP650 PSU Worth Fixing?

it might be ok for light work after a recap but its no 650w.
    call it "acceptable" at 300 or so.

Comment

Thanks for the reply kc8adu

I suppose it's probably not worth the $ or effort then.

Is this always the situation with recapping power supplies?

Comment

not true,
        it's worth fixing because it's a well built looking psu.
        you should replace all the caps with the possible exception of the 2 big mains filters.
        because the small caps will stop it turning on if they dry up.

panasonic FR,FK and FC will make that a nice backup / test psu.

Comment

It could do 400W, but don't expect more.

Comment

Thanks for the replies everyone.

Really, if the PSU can only operate at a reduced capacity then it isn't worth my trouble.

Thanks again for the advice.

Comment

^
              It's not that it will operate at a reduced capacity as a result of the recap. That thing was never capable of 650W from day 1. Ultra lied about the rating and fraudulently sold a 350-400W unit as a 650W.

If it was mine, though, I would absolutely recap it. for $5-10 in caps and maybe a hour of time, it's totally worth it IMO.
              Last edited by c_hegge; 08-20-2014, 07:19 PM.
              I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!