Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Laptop motherboard theory

Hello guys,

I'm studying a schematics from a laptop and trying to get better understanding of various parts and their role in laptop motherboard. I'm not trying to fix any specific motherboard, but to gain more knowledge.

It is interesting for me a LID switch on a motherboard. I know it's a HALL sensor and when magnetic material gets close to it, it will switch. So basically it is a switch that opens or close depending how close metallic frame of screen is.

But which circuit (voltage) this switch close or open? I know this can be measure on the power button connector. This switch should cut power to the screen but also do something to send the computer to sleep.

Also, I wonder what accelerometer sensor do in a laptop moterboard. What is its role?

Thank you.
    Attached Files

Re: Laptop motherboard theory

The circuit for LID switch usually resides on the Power-Button board which is not explained in the schematics.
    An accelerometer in a laptop protects hard drive from damage. If the laptop is being suddenly dropped while being On, the accelerometer detects the sudden free fall and immediately turn off the hard drive.
    Last edited by caspian; 12-31-2020, 05:43 AM.

Comment

LID SW# is directly connected to EC. Its one of the basic input requirement of KBC. 3D3V_S5 is usually the input for LID switch(VDD) and its output is called as LID Close# or LID SW# which goes to kbc. If the LID switch is shorted, it may pull down 3D3V_S5 rail to ground making the unit dead.BLON_OUT signal originate from kbc only when it gets LID SW# confirmation. thats why sometimes we get dimm display for simple fault of LID.

Comment

Can anyone please show me how on actual motherboard connection shown in the attached picture looks like?

Thank you.
        Attached Files

Comment

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=91803Two pads connected
          Attached Files