A1398 820-00426-A Fans spinning max and very hot heatsink

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A1398 820-00426-A Fans spinning max and very hot heatsink

This MBP 15" Retina (2015) is running normal. The only problem is that the fans are often spinning maximum without any hard work for the cpu.

I've already invested a lot in troubleshooting and can't get any further. I don't find any voltage errors or errors in the data lines. So far I haven't found any defective resistors or capacitors.

I have already changed the following parts on the board: U7090 (LT3470AED), C7099, C7094, U7100 (ISL6259AHRTZ).
    I renewed the thermal paste and cleaned the board in the ultrasonic cleaner.

I have no experience with this board yet. The removed board without battery consumes about 1.2A on the laboratory power supply. When switching on it goes up 1.7A - 2.1A then down to 1.9A and stays at 1.2A. When the temperature rises, the ampere consumption also rises - up to 1.3A or a bit higher. Are these normal values for this board?

I read here in the forum that this board needs a good battery to boot. So i connected a good battery in addition to the laboratory power supply, the behavior and power consumption did not change.

Can someone give me a tip on how I can continue.

Re: A1398 820-00426-A Fans spinning max and very hot heatsink

Hello,
    Maybe i found a fault on PPVCCIO_S0_CPU. I measure a resistance of 8 Ohm to ground. When i measure it on donor boards (without CPU on it) i get a value of 4.8MOhm. I only have donor boards to compare.

I desoldered and checked the components connected to ground on this rail. This components are C7279, C1079, C1800 and C1801. I still measure 8 Ohms to ground.

Measureing the resistors on this rail not connected to ground, gives me (i think) plausible values ...
    R7279 and R7280 = 55 Ohm
    R0531 = 2,47 kOhm
    R0601 = 61,5 Ohm
    R0800 = 75,4 Ohm
    R0802 = 55,5 Ohm