Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2021, 02:24 AM   #1
CapsDude
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
City & State: West Coast
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Didn't know where to put this thread, if there's another section let me know.

I found an old DVD and VHS home theater system in my garage today. I tried it out and at first it the DVD tray wouldn't open and it also wouldn't switch inputs from VHS to DVD, it's stuck on VHS. I did some research and opened it up. I checked the 5-CD disc tray, tray 1 was stuck in the back so I gently moved it forward. It seems like it's trying but something is keeping it from opening up. *see pic* I looked disconnected the trays and looked underneath, looked good. Took the front off and everything looked good. Went to start it up, now it won't even turn on just the clock. No CD/DVD is stuck, no bad caps (that I can notice at least.) and the fuse is good.

I have enclosed pics of the tray door when I try to open/elect and all of the boards. If other or clearer pics need to be taken, let me know. Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210303_163548.jpg (625.1 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 20210303_163725.jpg (476.8 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 20210303_163553.jpg (735.9 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg 20210303_231940.jpg (691.5 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 20210303_233159.jpg (815.3 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg 20210303_233200.jpg (836.5 KB, 9 views)
CapsDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 04:30 AM   #2
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,483
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

First thing I would do is vacuum then blow out as much dust as possible, did you try a vcr tape to see if it was only the dvd side that wasn't working correctly?
__________________
Signature: Any Stooge can find an "Idiot" by looking in his mirror.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 05:05 AM   #3
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,483
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Repaired a panny vcr/dvd combo a few months ago, 5 or 6 bad electrolytics, a bit of a pain, had to tear it all down to get out the powerboard. Was a DMR-ES40, it gave an error xx forgot the number but it wouldn't specify that there was a bad cap/s anyway. That one didn't have the multi-disk changer.

Last edited by nomoresonys; 03-04-2021 at 05:08 AM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 11:13 AM   #4
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,234
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Does the tray door need to be closed to run. Maybe a hidden tray door switch.
__________________
Willing to help but I'm no expert.
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 12:08 PM   #5
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

i think its mechanic issue, the VCR had main micro switch roller this should be to zero point then other function can be switched .. samee to DVD all tray.. so reset them all to zero by hand then plug it in wall.
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 10:28 PM   #6
CapsDude
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
City & State: West Coast
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Repaired a panny vcr/dvd combo a few months ago, 5 or 6 bad electrolytics, a bit of a pain, had to tear it all down to get out the powerboard. Was a DMR-ES40, it gave an error xx forgot the number but it wouldn't specify that there was a bad cap/s anyway. That one didn't have the multi-disk changer.
I got rid of it for a reason, but then I wasn't into fixing stuff. I can't see any visually bad caps. But like I said, it was turning on before but after I took the front off and looked under the disc tray only the clock comes on when I plug it in. Nothing happens when I press power. I looked it up and many say check the fuze, but the fuze is good. It was working fine as far as I know before. You can hear it turn on, try to open but now it's not doing anything. I didn't touch anything other than the fuze and remove a couple connector tape to remove the front and tray.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
Does the tray door need to be closed to run. Maybe a hidden tray door switch.
I don't believe so but it won't open to insert a disc when I press the button.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diah View Post
i think its mechanic issue, the VCR had main micro switch roller this should be to zero point then other function can be switched .. samee to DVD all tray.. so reset them all to zero by hand then plug it in wall.
Could be. I have to get it powering on now tho. But where is the switch roller and how do you reset it?
CapsDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 01:14 AM   #7
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapsDude View Post
Could be. I have to get it powering on now tho. But where is the switch roller and how do you reset it?
downside the area marked in the photo. move the motor with hand at one direction you will hear one click (zero point)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210303_163553.jpg (527.9 KB, 7 views)
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 06:13 AM   #8
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,483
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

And you're sure you put all connectors back in place?

Last edited by nomoresonys; 03-05-2021 at 06:39 AM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 07:14 AM   #9
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,483
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Does it click or anything when you try to power it up?
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 04:56 PM   #10
CapsDude
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
City & State: West Coast
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Does it click or anything when you try to power it up?
No. It was before. I'm pretty sure I put everything back in and in the correct spot. As you can see in the post where I posted pics, everything was lighting up. Now I just get this.

There is one connector that looks like a little bit of the ending scratched off. Can that cause anything?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210305_145512.jpg (674.8 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 20210305_150556.jpg (505.2 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by CapsDude; 03-05-2021 at 05:09 PM..
CapsDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 05:09 PM   #11
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,483
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Don't know if you have same problem or not but here's a fix it video from NorCal:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2IX45y_Ml4g

Last edited by nomoresonys; 03-05-2021 at 05:39 PM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 05:38 PM   #12
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,483
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

I think the clue in that video was the clicking.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 06:00 PM   #13
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,991
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapsDude View Post
No. It was before. I'm pretty sure I put everything back in and in the correct spot. As you can see in the post where I posted pics, everything was lighting up. Now I just get this.

There is one connector that looks like a little bit of the ending scratched off. Can that cause anything?
This could be a problem, which cable is it? what plug numbers does it connect to? If this one is damaged, the ones from the dvd mech could also be damaged. If that is the 14 pin cable to to the cd loading circuit, CN1 the damaged ends are POS Sensor and Bottom switch, and the one on the end is either pin1 (+7.5v) or pin 14 (Play_sw)

Last edited by R_J; 03-05-2021 at 06:09 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 06:04 PM   #14
CapsDude
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
City & State: West Coast
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
I think the clue in that video was the clicking.
Mine doesn't click. Don't think it's a similar issue, that one had no power at all. Mine has some, cause the clock comes on. And I'm not finding that part that he replaced.
CapsDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 06:16 PM   #15
CapsDude
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
City & State: West Coast
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
This could be a problem, which cable is it? what plug numbers does it connect to? If this one is damaged, the ones from the dvd mech could also be damaged. If that is the 14 pin cable to to the cd loading circuit, CN1 the damaged ends are POS Sensor and Bottom switch, and the one on the end is either pin1 (+7.5v) or pin 14 (Play_sw)
Connects under the CD tray here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210305_160731.jpg (502.1 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by CapsDude; 03-05-2021 at 06:19 PM..
CapsDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 06:35 PM   #16
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,483
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Ok, I didn't see your edit, might need to repair/replace that cable to at least get back to where you were, there's another good video from NorCal where he's sniffing out bad caps:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3S-3J-FySzc

Last edited by nomoresonys; 03-05-2021 at 06:39 PM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 07:05 PM   #17
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,991
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapsDude View Post
Connects under the CD tray here.
You can straighten out the foil and carefully reinsert it into the plug, just make sure it is in the correct way.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 07:58 PM   #18
CapsDude
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
City & State: West Coast
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
You can straighten out the foil and carefully reinsert it into the plug, just make sure it is in the correct way.
Is there a certain tool to use or can you just use your finger tips?
CapsDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 08:18 PM   #19
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,991
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapsDude View Post
Is there a certain tool to use or can you just use your finger tips?
What ever works, finger nail will work, just fold it back to where it should be and carefully re insert it into the plug, and like I said, make sure it is in the right way or you will get no connections at all.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 10:11 PM   #20
CapsDude
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
City & State: West Coast
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: Panasonic SA-HT820V Home Theater System

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
What ever works, finger nail will work, just fold it back to where it should be and carefully re insert it into the plug, and like I said, make sure it is in the right way or you will get no connections at all.
I folded the back the best I could. Better than it was. Now I'm getting a F04 error code. After looking it up supposedly means MECH STOPPED DURING UNLOADING FROM DRUM.
CapsDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:07 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?