Defective Multimeter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Defective Multimeter?

I'm new to multimeters so this may be a stupid question: I have a new DT830B Multimeter and when I set it to the ohm function it just reads "1". No matter what i'm testing or what range I set it to, it's always at 1....even when not used. Am I doing something wrong or did I buy a bad unit? I do have the red lead in the VmA and black in COM and I tried touching the two leads together to zero it out but still just a "1".
    Attached Files

Re: Defective Multimeter?

Originally posted by gorr35 View Post
    when I set it to the ohm function it just reads "1". No matter what i'm testing or what range I set it to, it's always at 1....even when not used.

I do have the red lead in the VmA and black in COM and I tried touching the two leads together to zero it out but still just a "1".
    "1" means it is out of range or infinite. If it is on any ohm range, it should say "1" because your probes are not touching anything.

Put your multimeter on 200 ohms setting. If you touch the two probes together you should get something like 0.2 ohms. If it reads "1", you probably have a defective multimeter. Check the internal fuse.

Funny, I just got this exact model from someone to try and fix.
    --- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---

Comment