Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2021, 05:01 AM   #1
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Hi,

Decided to put a modchip in my original Xbox. It works fine and I wanted to install a bigger hard drive.

After installing it I noticed the hard drive powers down all the time, especially when the DVD drive is reading a disk.
Checked the molex connector:

12 volts is @ 10.85. When the DVD drive seeks it drops to 10.00 and the HDD powers down. It will go up to 10.80V again, drop to 10.00, power down, etc, etc. With the original drive it drops to ~10.20, and that is enough to keep it spinning. That's why I never noticed there is something wrong. Without the DVD connected it also powers down a lot, but a little less frequent (1 time per second instead of multiple times).

Also measured the atx connector:
Orange: 3.85
Purple: 3.62
Green: 3.55
Grey: 3.85
Yellow: 10.80
Red: 5.00

I noticed two bulged capacitors near the CPU of the Xbox. See attached photograph.

C3E2 3300uF 6.3v (bulge)
C2E4 3300uF 6.3v (middle one, this one has flat surface)
C1E1 3300uF 6.3v (bulge)

Regarding the power supply: 15 years ago lighting struck the house and got into the Xbox and I replaced the power supply (which was blackened) with another one. I did some searching today and found out it: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32298095875.html (Chinese).

My question is this: could the two capacitors near the CPU cause the low 12v? Or, is it more likely caused by the PSU? I don't see any bulged/leaked capacitors on the PSU. But then again, I am a total newbie with this.

Regards,
Justin
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capacitors.jpg (688.8 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg PSU.jpg (862.5 KB, 31 views)
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 05:39 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,273
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

you need a full recap, your 3.3v is high too.

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=78134
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 07:52 AM   #3
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Thank you. Do you think the power supply isn't the cause? I was thinking of buying a broken Xbox for 5,- and taking the PSU out, together with recap.

I will do the recap regardless, I see that you used smd ones in your linked post. Do you suggest I also replace the tiny silver smd ones next to the focus videochip?

Would this be ok?

https://www.conrad.com/p/panasonic-e...m-1-pcs-446684 x3 for the ones in the picture of my OP.

For the rest I guess I'll have to measure all of them for size, height... Do you have recommendations on which brand/type? I used Panasonic for some other projects, but I've forgotten the types I used. Xbox is version 1.4 by the way.
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 10:17 AM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,273
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

firstly, if you can get an xbox for €5, do it - and fix both!
99% of xbox faults are capacitor related.

as for your board.
you have space for 5 caps at the cpu,
so fit 1500uf polymers.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32909529195.html

for the psu, use panasonic FR series.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 10:46 AM   #5
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

You mean populate the places where there are none at the moment? Didn't know that was possible. I'll try to find the ones you linked on more sites (maybe I can avoid having to wait 50 days for them to arrive.).

So:

Psu - FR (might start with board first and see what happens)
Cpu area - the ones you linked, including now non populated ones
The rest of the board - also Panasonic FR or can I use FC? I find those a bit easier to find.

Maybe the gpu and cpu will also run a bit cooler after recap, put fresh paste on it yesterday and got 55C while idling which seems really high.
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 12:09 PM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,273
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

the 5 spaces in front of the cpu are all connected in parallel.

just do the psu and the ones in front of the cpu for now.
then see if it runs.

btw, dont bother with a mod-chip unless you have one.
you can just flash the code onto the flash chip in the console
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 04:16 PM   #7
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Got it.

Trying really hard to find similar ones at EU shops that ship to non-businesses but having no luck.

I'll start with the psu as I can maybe get those panasonic ones here. For the 5 CPU ones I'll have to wait till half of juli if I purchase them from aliexpress. But nothing to do about it.

To be sure: for the PSU I don't need to replace the two large ones right? They're 200v 330uf. Can't see a brand. The small ones are a mix of Acon, Samwha btw. Probably not too good
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 04:45 PM   #8
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,974
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

try rs components .. justin electronics sounds a good name ..
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2021, 01:44 AM   #9
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,273
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

you could also use TME in poland
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2021, 03:24 AM   #10
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Thanks, rs components+conrad did the trick. I'll post back when it's done.
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 04:28 AM   #11
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Guys, the two big PSU capacitors. Should I replace them also? "STO", 200V, 330uF. I could order this one but I'd like to have your opinion on this:

EKXJ201ELL331MMN3S https://nl.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...Ug%2FDWg%3D%3D

This is the only one I could find that has same voltage rating as the ones that are on it now. I've read that the big ones usually don't fail, is that true?
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 06:17 AM   #12
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,273
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

no, dont replace them - highly unlikely they are bad.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 07:05 AM   #13
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Central PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 197
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Highly recommend Rubycon ZLQ 3300uf 10v for XBOX replacement. Also if you have a 1.4 version or lower Nichicon UHV 3300uf 6.3v are also excellent. Don't replace any brown caps on the motherboard, those are usually fine.

https://i.imgur.com/0j9ExhE.jpg This is a 1.6

Here is a board more like yours where I used Nichicon UHV https://i.imgur.com/zz8qJ0Y.jpeg

Agree with STJ, just get another cheap broken XBOX and harvest the PSU. But your main CPU caps still need replaced either way.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------
Ryzen 3600x
16GB Patriot 3600MHz
MSI B450 Gaming Plus
MSI Air Boost Vega 56
Acer 32" 1440P Freesync
Rosewill Capstone 750W
--------------------------------------------------------------
Hakko FX-888D Station
FX-8802 Iron
MG Chem .8mm 63/37 RA 2.2%

Last edited by jayjr1105; 05-17-2021 at 07:13 AM..
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 08:13 AM   #14
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,273
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

i didnt say that, i said get the other xbox and fix it - as a spare xbox!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 08:33 AM   #15
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Central PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 197
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
i didnt say that, i said get the other xbox and fix it - as a spare xbox!!
I have two good working xbox's a 1.2 and a 1.4 halo green one. Both modded and mostly recapped. I also have a storage bin with several boards, power supply's, DVD drives, etc. I need to unload it soon.
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 08:48 AM   #16
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

For the 5 motherboard ones near cpu area I've ordered Panasonic os-con sepc capacitors, 1500 uF 6.3v

https://eu.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...FgWeRhLxhAtQ==

Are those motherboard ones OK?

All psu ones are FR series which arrived today, I will put them in later.
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 08:55 AM   #17
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Central PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 197
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Those are good quality poly's
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 10:53 AM   #18
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Well guys, the result is disappointing. Zero change, still exactly at 10.80V.
3.3V is still high as well.

I'm starting to think this psu is crap. Any more ideas?
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 11:12 AM   #19
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,273
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

good pics of the psu
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 11:58 AM   #20
Justin1091
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: .
My Country: The Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: Xbox has low 12v, cause?

Here are pictures of the psu.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg top.jpg (621.6 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg top2.jpg (608.3 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg front.jpg (692.9 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg back.jpg (541.7 KB, 17 views)
Justin1091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?