Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2022, 05:57 PM   #1
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Question Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Good evening I am working on a Reebok oneGT40s treadmill. It had a flashing display which the replacement of D3 rectified. However the lift motor now runs when the mains is turned on and does not stop. If I then select start so the tread motor runs and disconnect the up lead to the lift motor it stops. If I then reconnect the lead the lift motor works as it should with the controls. It will continue to work correctly until the mains is turned off and on again, or the safety device is removed and replaced. It then runs again and only by disconnecting and reconnecting the up lead will it operate correctly. I have tried putting anther motor capacitor in the lead to no avail. Most instructions I can find to reset require turning the mains off which brings the fault back. Any help much appreciated God Bless Allen
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 05:16 AM   #2
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

I should have said disconnect the down lead not the up lead age you know : ) The lift motor is also not under load, as I have the treadmill on its end to work on the motor board so un-coupled its screw from the frame it lifts.
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 06:25 AM   #3
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,847
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

does it have limit switches at the end of travel?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 11:47 AM   #4
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Thank you for your interest, it has a sensor, but I assume that counts the turns similar to the actuators on a driven satellite dish. I will take a look inside the motor as your suggestion is a thought. It could be trying to reset to zero height at power on ?
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 12:55 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,847
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

if it has microswitches with diodes to stop it smashing out of range, check them.
it's handy that you know about sattelite dish jacks - because many of these things are similar
then check any mosfets and relays
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 02:54 PM   #6
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,161
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

If you disconnected the thread end of the actuator, is it just spinning or does it move in or out? The motor likely runs until it sees the down stop position.

Last edited by R_J; 06-24-2022 at 02:56 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 06:26 PM   #7
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

The thread moves in and out if stopped from turning, it does not have any stops.
The software only allows it to travel so far, that is when it is working correctly as stated below.

I have spent some more time on it today, taking the motor out. It does not have limit switches but relies on the software to limit its travel, which sounds risky, but that is as far as I can tell the way it is. It has a sensor, magnetic with probably a reed type switch, this produces on and off when the motor is running, I metered the lead from it. These pulses are fed into the motor control board.

Pulling that lead out also stopped it running at switch on, but affected the up and down selection in that the up switch would turn into a down switch after a few presses.

I checked the 3,5 mfd 450 volt AC capacitor on the motor for capacitance and leakage, it was fine.

There must be a voltage on the up terminal on the motor board at maims switch on, which disappears if the motor is disconnected then reconnected to it.

The motor is not under load at the moment, but gets very hot with just testing the up and down. The fan at the end can be turned with little effort, could it have shorted turns, could the increased load hold this voltage up at switch on due to the software ?
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 07:40 PM   #8
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,161
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Have you re assembled the treadmill to see if it will self calibrate? Have you tried the calibration procedure for this model?

Last edited by R_J; 06-24-2022 at 07:52 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 08:27 PM   #9
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,219
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

I guess these things are known for the incline needing to be recalibrated. Google “Reebok get40s incline calibration”.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2022, 03:44 AM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,847
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

or sell it and go out for a walk.
i never understand why people buy these mini convayor belts!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ig4NK2xeboI
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2022, 03:58 AM   #11
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Have you re assembled the treadmill to see if it will self calibrate? Have you tried the calibration procedure for this model?
No it was in two halves when I obtained it on Free Cycle, getting it up the steps into my radio workshop one floor up was fun : )

The only difference to its operation assembled, would be that the motor would be under load, there are no other sensors on the unit other than the one on the lift motor itself, it is however worth a try.

Not easy to do at the moment as I have another older one taking up a lot of space.
I obtained this one as the older one had a belt drive fault which turned out to be in a encapsulated sealed module on the motor board.

I have use a variack to drive that one. : )
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2022, 04:03 AM   #12
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
I guess these things are known for the incline needing to be recalibrated. Google “Reebok get40s incline calibration”.
The motor running at start up has thwarted all of the calibration suggestions on line so fat. It does have a calibrate mode button but so far I have been unable to find instructions.
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2022, 04:34 AM   #13
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
or sell it and go out for a walk.
i never understand why people buy these mini convayor belts!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ig4NK2xeboI
I run or did until recently three miles a day at 76, but the hills out of Mullion Cove are now a problem which I am trying to over come.

I do not want heart surgery or any other intervention, as our son-in-law died at their hands, the courts have supported this.

I was given the device and find it hard with anything electrical or mechanical not to fix it : )

I expect some of you gentlemen are the same, I would rather have a used device and fix it that buy a new one.

There is also the possibility of modifying a treadmill to use with VR, by mounting it on a rotary platform so that direction of travel can be changed.

It is the interest of doing it and making it all work.

It is difficult with these things as circuits and service data is hard to find, we supply data online for vintage radio etc from the 30s to the 90s but have nothing on these devices.

Thank you all for your suggestions.

Time for a run / walk outside in the sunshine : )
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 07:20 AM   #14
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

I have wired a switch in series with the incline motor so it cannot run at switch on.

After about 3 seconds a relay on the motor board clicks, after that the supply to the lift motor can be restored and all works as it should.

A delay device of some sort is required which I will sort out later.

It could be the relay is slow or some other reason, but difficult to pin it down without a circuit or good knowledge of the workings of this type of circuit.

God Bless G0RIT Allen
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 04:05 AM   #15
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,654
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Dose this device have a troubleshooting screen where you can see if the encoder is counting smooth and not jumping the counting numbers up or down or all over the place

It might not to check encoder is going to be more difficult to do

If does not if you can post a picture of the encoder would help there might be a way to test it
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 11:36 AM   #16
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Not unless there is some engineering mode I know nothing about. Reebok treadmills have a calibrate mode for speed, but that as far as I know is it.

There is no way that I know or have heard, of connecting into the device, or a trouble shooting mode on its own screen.
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2022, 12:08 PM   #17
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,654
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

Some devices have this troubleshooting option and some do not unfortunately

If the encoder has the following pins that ( if it has A / B output pins ) are marked you can still test it’s output but it is not as easily done but it can be done depending on weather or not it analog or if it is digital will make a difference on how you would go about doing the testing ( it should have + / - pins a ground or shield pin and a common pin A / B channel pins now it might only have one channel which perfectly ok depending on the type of encoder it has

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 07-04-2022 at 12:19 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2022, 08:21 AM   #18
G0RIT
New Member
 
G0RIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: Mullion Cove Cornwall
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50c/s
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: Reebok one GT40s treadmill lift motor runs at switch on

It is not something I understand Sam, I have been in electronics since 1961 but on the radio repair side.

Stress gets at me now if I delve too deeply into something new, it affects my heart rate.

Too many years in business I guess : )

I do not know where the encoder is, unless it refers to the large chip on the motor board.

I can fix a lot of present day stuff, capacitor faults and so on, but am better with valve equipment : )

Thank you for your interest, I do not fully understand the workings of software or chips., it is a very different world now : )

I have some recent tools such as a heat gun and a power solder extractor, a very useful device.

It even comes in useful with old valve radios, it removes a lot of the solder on wrapped connections, making them easier to un-ravel.

God Bless G0RIT
G0RIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?