Samsung 226BW

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung 226BW

I inherited a "dead" monitor, Samsung Model 226BW.
    The screen is black, but the power button shows blue light surrounding it.
    While trying every adjustment button underneath the lower right edge, the screen will occasionally display a small white rectangle in the upper left screen which says "digital" or sometimes "analog". They disappear on their own.

A Google session revealed that there were many failures with this model, and many seemed to involve bad capacitors on the power supply.
    I pulled the case apart, and visually inspected the caps on the power board, I think, not the video board.
    None appear bulged or defective in any obvious way.
    I read a few threads regarding this monitor on the BADCAPS forum.
    Hmmm. I have little experience with electronics, but I want to see what I can do.

I used a pocket multimeter to see what is up with the caps on this board.
    The board is the same as depicted in several pictures from other posts RE Samsung 226BW monitors.
    For example:
    https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...=SAMSUNG+226BW

I freed the board from the chassis, and plugged in the power cable.
    I read 15.7V DC across 6 different caps in various locations on the board.
    I was impressed by the consistency, and by the fact that I did not electrocute myself, since I don't really know what I am doing!

If I can repair this thing for cheap, it will be a major victory in the face of our throw-away society.

Obviously, the power is transformed from 110vAC.
    Does anyone know what the DC voltage should read?
    Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you for reading my first post.
    James

Re: Samsung 226BW

What happens when you hook it up to a working computer and select the appropriate input?

Pictures of the boards in this monitor will help us help you. Attach using 'Manage Attachments' - below the text entry area.

PlainBill