Top Half of Dell E151FPb Darker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Top Half of Dell E151FPb Darker

Hello to all This is my first time posting.

I recieved a Dell E151FPb that the owner didn't want anymore due to "white screen" issue after the monitor would warm up a bit.

edit note* I forgot to mention that the original "white screen" issue the previous owner had was likely due to a desoldered joint on coil whose number I can't recall. There was talk of this issue in another forum, and indeed this same coil had the similar symptom on my power board.

I hastily opened the casing to see what could be at fault, and noticed the monitor used the "usual suspect" C5706/C5707 transistors, and two IRFU024N hexfets. Being naturally inclined towards laziness, I decided to do absolutely zero troubleshooting, and just change the above, along with a few filter capacitors.

I did not have IRFU024N hexfets, so I used two IRLZ34's, which have similar specs. In any event, the monitor turns on, but there are three new symptoms:

1) Top half (more like top 35%) of screen darker. (dying lamp?)

2) Monitor does not go to sleep (green led does not go amber when computer powered off)

3) Monitor does not power-off. When attempting to do so, LED shuts off, but you are left with "white screen", so I'm guessing the lamps are still drawing juice from discharge?

I have no idea what's wrong :\

Many thanks for your time and patience.
    Last edited by 11flint; 02-27-2011, 04:48 PM. Reason: forgot stuff
    Heaven, is a place where all IC's are DIP.

Re: Top Half of Dell E151FPb Darker

Did you bridge a solder pad on one of the FETs?
    Pictures would really be helpful, Please use managed attachments
    Whatever I do, I consider it a success, if in the end I am breathing, seeing, feeling and hearing!

Comment

Please excuse my ignorance, but what is a solder pad? Will post picks soon.

Comment

pictures would be good
        please both front and back of the board