Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2019, 10:25 PM   #1
russianbot
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
City & State: Boston, MA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

I have a Geforce 6800gt that is not outputting any red signal to the analog VGA connector, and everything is a shade of cyan. The card otherwise works fine, and I'm pretty sure the problem is caused by a torn off inductor next to the VGA connector. In the photos I uploaded there are two inductors L512 and L515, but L511 is missing.

Anyone know what inductor I can use to replace the missing one? The two remaining ones are about 2.1mm long, 1.2mm wide and 1.2mm tall. They seem to have two connectors on each end. What would be a suitable replacement that I can buy?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gf6800gt_vga1.JPG (664.4 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg gf6800gt_vga2.JPG (211.1 KB, 41 views)

Last edited by russianbot; 03-27-2019 at 10:26 PM.. Reason: spelling
russianbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 11:23 PM   #2
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,873
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

It might be one of these https://www.digikey.ca/products/en/f...=1&pageSize=25
If its on the vga output I doubt the value is that critical, anything around that size seems to be about 1H
Attached Files
File Type: pdf srf2012a-801y.pdf (336.7 KB, 7 views)

Last edited by R_J; 03-27-2019 at 11:43 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 04:19 PM   #3
russianbot
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
City & State: Boston, MA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

Thanks, that's probably the one I'll order.
russianbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 10:44 PM   #4
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,089
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

If bad comes to worse, you can just solder a piece of jumper wire across the inductor. It will work fine. I've done it before many times. Just might affect signal clarity at very high analog resolutions.

Note about your missing inductor above: it is a dual-inductor / common mode inductor. But really only one of the lanes (sides) caries the red output. So you only need to jumper that side - if using a jumper, that is.

Last edited by momaka; 04-04-2019 at 10:46 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 11:45 PM   #5
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,247
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

why not just use superior dvi
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 12:10 AM   #6
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,089
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

*tries to locate the DVI port on the back of the CRT monitor*
I don't think I have one!
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 10:32 PM   #7
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,630
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
If bad comes to worse, you can just solder a piece of jumper wire across the inductor. It will work fine. I've done it before many times. Just might affect signal clarity at very high analog resolutions.
I was going to suggest that for testing purposes.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 07:07 PM   #8
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,247
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

you could also use a dvi-vga adapter if the port supports it
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 10:29 PM   #9
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,089
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I was going to suggest that for testing purposes.
Well, that's what I did on my first card with that issue (a Radeon HD2400 XT). But then I found out that this "for testing purposes only" "temporary repair" was good enough for the analog resolutions I wanted to run (no ghosting or noise whatsoever). So I started "fixing" every card with this issue in this way... unless of course I had an exact replacement component from another card (which I do quite often, as I keep a good stash of dead GPUs.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
you could also use a dvi-vga adapter if the port supports it
Yup, or that.

It should support it. DVI (digital-only) ports became standard only on the Radeon RX series and GeForce GTX 10x0 series... and everything afterwards, of course, as modern GPUs no longer carry RAMDACs (save for some of the lower-end cards that may still come with a VGA port.)

But the 6800 GT is certainly old enough to support analog output through DVI.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 07:23 AM   #10
dj_ricoh
Badcaps Veteran
 
dj_ricoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: London
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,997
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

Can you post a picture how it looks in curent state on the screen?
__________________
Just cook it! It's already broken.
dj_ricoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 02:03 AM   #11
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

I recommend replacing all three as a set for best performance - these inductors are typically used for electromagnetic compatibility.
__________________
My first choice in quality Japanese electrolytics is Nippon Chemi-Con, which has been in business since 1931... the quality of electronics is dependent on the quality of the electrolytics.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 08:39 AM   #12
shabs1985
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
City & State: Bolton
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

I also have a 6800gt with the same no red on vga issue. did replacing the cap work?
shabs1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 12:16 PM   #13
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,554
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

read the post again,
it's not a cap - he has an inductor missing because someone damaged it.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 01:31 AM   #14
shabs1985
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
City & State: Bolton
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

I have two inductors missing. how would you solder thesee back onto the board?
shabs1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 07:24 AM   #15
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,089
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

Quote:
Originally Posted by shabs1985 View Post
I have two inductors missing. how would you solder thesee back onto the board?
You'll need a soldering iron with a sharp tip. The tip doesn't necessarily need to be small. It just needs to be sharp. Chisel and bevel-shaped tips should be easier to use over regular conical/pencil. The one on my iron is spoon-shaped (cheap copper tip that wore into a spoon over time, but it works great for SMD stuff.)

As for the inductors... just put piece of wire in their place or a 0-Ohm SMD resistor. It's not an ideal solution (may or may not cause slight color imperfection or possibly noise/blurriness at very high resolutions), but it will get the card working, at least.

Last edited by momaka; 11-25-2019 at 07:32 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 09:09 AM   #16
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,554
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

hot air station.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 06:34 PM   #17
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,089
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

^ Really? For SMDs with two leads only? Nah, I don't have the nerves for hot air for small stuff like that. Unless it's SMD with many (over 10) small pins, I don't bother with hot air. If you do hot air, then you need good flux and probably also solder paste, and a slew of other stuff. With iron, you just need flux and a steady hand.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 06:43 PM   #18
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,554
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

some gell-flux and hot air and the part will center itself on the pads,
i was recently changing some 0402 resistors like that!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bf-t1-inside.jpg (160.3 KB, 9 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 06:51 PM   #19
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,089
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

I suppose if the part is in an inconvenient spot, then hot air might be easier to use. I haven't encountered that too many times, though - at least not on video cards and motherboards. And I actually like doing those small 0402 SMDs with my iron - they are pretty easy. Helps to have long nails, though, (or good tweezers and a steady hand) as I often usually just keep the SMD on the board with my thumb nail, and then touch with the iron on one lead, then on the other. Takes maybe 1-3 minutes max to do everything. Hot air can be quick only if you have a good powerful station and you're working on a smaller board. The 852D+ I have takes way too long to solder anything, even on max heat, so I don't bother with it most of the time. It only comes out for QFN chips or similar work.

Last edited by momaka; 11-25-2019 at 06:52 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 10:20 AM   #20
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,554
Default Re: Geforce 6800gt VGA missing red output signal

i used an 858d,

the only real problem with 0402 is losing them when they ping off the end of the tweezers - just as well they come in long strips!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:26 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?