Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2010, 11:08 AM   #1
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,444
Default Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Interesting one here. I've got a Toshiba Satellite that will lock up almost as soon as you plug it into AC. If you run it off the battery, it won't lock up at all and runs fine until the battery runs out.

Tried a brand new ac adaptor and still has the issue. Doesn't seem to be overheating, and I even pulled it apart and put new AS5 on the CPU heatsink. Didn't find anything else noticibly wrong when I was in there, either.

Any thoughts?
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 06:05 PM   #2
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,841
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Did you check for a lint carpet between the heatsink and the grill?
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:53 PM   #3
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,444
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by mockingbird
Did you check for a lint carpet between the heatsink and the grill?
Cleaned everything when I had it apart.

I've found some other people online having the same issues - noone has been able to solve it. Tried BIOS updates, no go. I'm thinking it might be a piece of hardware that's disabled when running on battery, and then turns itself back on when plugged in and causes the laptop to lock up. The laptop locks up whether it's in Windows or not.
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 11:37 PM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 19,559
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

bad caps in the hv stepdown probably.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 11:52 PM   #5
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,841
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Did you try removing components? (i.e. modem card, wifi card...)
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 10:01 AM   #6
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,297
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Carefully check the SMD electrolytic capacitors, especially small ones in critical control circuits for power MOSFETs.

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 11:39 AM   #7
insomnia
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 17
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

could be bad caps alright but i would also check to see if it is a bad joint on the dc jack
insomnia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 01:29 AM   #8
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Just fixed one Satellite A300. This is caused by a bad cap. A big one - NEC/TOKIN 0E907 (900uF/2.5V) under the CPU. Mine had 900uF but probably lost some of its magic, resulting in >100mV ripple on CPU power. Adding 1x 100uF and 5x 10uF ceramic caps fixed the problem.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg toshiba_a300.jpg (70.2 KB, 5170 views)
File Type: jpg toshiba_a300_.jpg (78.3 KB, 5906 views)
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 10:09 PM   #9
Biancocf
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Hello everybody , im new here , but i promise to do my best to help on this fantastic forum! , i need a little help here , i remove this capacitor now the mobo does not boot , how can i dessolder the capacitor from anither board without destroy it?
Biancocf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 10:11 PM   #10
Biancocf
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainbow View Post
Just fixed one Satellite A300. This is caused by a bad cap. A big one - NEC/TOKIN 0E907 (900uF/2.5V) under the CPU. Mine had 900uF but probably lost some of its magic, resulting in >100mV ripple on CPU power. Adding 1x 100uF and 5x 10uF ceramic caps fixed the problem.
can you help me to solve this problem? i need to change this capacitor and it's too weak to temperature... please it's my first bad service here...
Biancocf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 11:29 PM   #11
severach
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 982
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

The only good method I've found for quickly and safely removing large 2 terminal SMD parts like caps and diodes is with 2 soldering irons. One in each hand and a tantalum cap lifts off in seconds with minimal heat. A SMD hot air gun and one soldering iron works also but the part gets a lot more heat before coming off.

The cap can be put on the same way with 2 irons but the result doesn't look good and the part gets a lot of heat while fussing with the position. Removing the solder from one pad and using 1 iron usually produces a higher quality result.
severach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 11:56 PM   #12
ablacon64
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Go for Rainbow tip. That huge capacitor is usually responsible for that. Keep in mind that it has four soldered terminals in it. I had success by preheating the motherboard (150șC) and then using a hot air rework station to remove it.
Two soldering irons won't do for that one (or at least will be very difficult).
But in my case I replaced then with 4 330u 2.5v tantalun SMD capacitors.
ablacon64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:30 PM   #13
Biancocf
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by ablacon64 View Post
Go for Rainbow tip. That huge capacitor is usually responsible for that. Keep in mind that it has four soldered terminals in it. I had success by preheating the motherboard (150șC) and then using a hot air rework station to remove it.
Two soldering irons won't do for that one (or at least will be very difficult).
But in my case I replaced then with 4 330u 2.5v tantalun SMD capacitors.
can you post a picture ? i want to see the finish job , the space is too short to 4 caps here , if possible of course...
Biancocf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 07:38 PM   #14
Biancocf
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Wooooww!! it work's !!! i change a little bit the prescription but it's perfect!!
i put 10 ceramic caps on right side and 4 470u tantalum on left side and now it's like a new one , thankyou everybody , now i want to post a pic of the job to help others , can someone help me to post a pic ? what max specs of the pic please...
Biancocf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 07:42 PM   #15
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,076
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biancocf View Post
what max specs of the pic please...
Use the manage attachment functions (below text area) and please do not post inline.

Max jpg is 2000x2000 and around 4MB.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 08:21 PM   #16
Biancocf
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

i help this help others , thank's
Attached Images
File Type: jpg a305-caps.jpg (152.8 KB, 5415 views)
Biancocf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 08:59 PM   #17
ablacon64
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biancocf View Post
can you post a picture ? i want to see the finish job , the space is too short to 4 caps here , if possible of course...
Unfortunately, I made this fix some time ago, the notebook is with the client. But I made a (terrible) drawing. Hope it helps.
ablacon64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 04:34 PM   #18
ablacon64
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biancocf View Post
can you post a picture ? i want to see the finish job , the space is too short to 4 caps here , if possible of course...
I had the opportunity to solve another one with that same problem, this time I took some pictures. Hope it helps.

The notebook is a Toshiba Satellite A305-S6872.

The first image shows the capacitor removed, board cleaned.
The second, new solder added to the pads.
And finally, the finished job.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg capacitor_removido_placa_limpa.jpg (13.6 KB, 4423 views)
File Type: jpg nova_solda_aplicada_nas_trilhas.jpg (15.5 KB, 4459 views)
File Type: jpg trabalho_pronto.jpg (16.8 KB, 5771 views)
ablacon64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 08:06 PM   #19
azry
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

Thanks all for that pictures... i never thinking to do this before!
azry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 11:33 AM   #20
unlockdev
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 60
Default Re: Toshiba Satellite - Locks up when plugged in

I Hav toshiba L300 blinking power adapter i thinks the problem in the caps to cos i check the power mosfet ist oki ???
unlockdev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?