Problems measuring mA with multimeter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems measuring mA with multimeter

I'm brand new to electronics and trying to teach myself using the "make: electronics" book.

I bought the $45 multimeter Radio Shack along with the components for the first few experiments but I'm having a problem measuring current.

Supposedly the main raid can measure current, you're just supposed to switch to the other outlet for large currents. I can measure voltage and ohms fine but I can't get the mA to work. I'm using a circuit with 4AA batteries, a resistor and a LED. When i switch to the other outlet it works but it only shows A not mA so I only get one significant digit. I tried switching fuses but I get the same thing.

Am I doing something incredibly dumb which has cost me two fuses or something incredibly dumb and just not getting it to work?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Matt

Re: Problems measuring mA with multimeter

You have to connect the multimeter inline , not the way you measure voltage and resistance (which is parallel)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yrpmq2FCnqs

and you have to pay attention to the maximum mA value supported. If you're not sure how much mA you have, be careful and use the high voltage (low precision) plug first, then move down to the more fine one.

Comment

Originally posted by matt0177 View Post
      I'm brand new to electronics and trying to teach myself using the "make: electronics" book.
      You may want to check eevblog.com if you are learning electronics. Dave Jones has over 200 videos on various electronic topics.

Am I doing something incredibly dumb which has cost me two fuses or something incredibly dumb and just not getting it to work?
      Generally, the fuses are matched with the dial setting. So for 10A, it will have 10A fuse. For the mA range, it will probably be around 500ma or so. So when replacing fuses, always use the correct rating.