Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Short on motherboard power rail - general question

Hello guys,
    first of all I'm not a professional in repairing electronics, but I do have formal electrical background. From time to time I have managed to repair something like PSU or laptops when faults were obvious or very easy to find with a multimeter.

However, recently I had a problem with 19V power rail shorted to ground. I was not able to find the cause, because a shorted component was somewhere deeper in the motherboard and this was handed to a professional.

I wonder if it is sufficient to check 8th pin on BIOS chip and pin on power switch, where 3.3V is expected and to test it against the ground to conclude that short is not on 3.3V rail?

Since 3.3V is produced from the main 19V, it is reasonable to assume that short on 3.3V can appear like short of 19V rail.

Thank you.

Re: Short on motherboard power rail - general question

Hi,

First of all , you don't have to be professional to understand gate , voltage or any signal processing
    You need basic understanding of MOSFET, signals , resistor, capacitor, and basic motherboard voltage level processing etc.

Read basic tutorial given in this forum and you will understand

19v is connected to all linear drive ic, switch ICS and all other etc. The main point where it is going out in motherboard from DC in section or charger ic section in general is a CLR , current limiting resistor.

Remove it and check resistance to ground on CSP and CSN

This will give you idea if short is on DC in MOSFETs side or 19v out or edge side.

Read guide you will understand.

Short can be due to vin section as it is spreading in motherboard.

Comment

Originally posted by stingerchamp View Post
      Hi,

First of all , you don't have to be professional to understand gate , voltage or any signal processing